My Only One

PicsArt_1387727816233Who is the most important person in your life? Describe that person in as great a detail as you can muster and most importantly, tell us why you cherish this person.

My son crawls into my bed adjacent to his and plops onto the pillow. “Mama loves you” I whisper in his ear as he adjusts his position. “Oh Mama, you made me happy!” comes the sleepy reply as he goes back to sleep and starts to snore gently.

How did this little one become the most important person in my life? It didn’t just happen 4 years ago when I first held him, a tiny red wrinkled up creature; it started even before that when I first felt him in my womb.

The first movements were so slight I could easily have been mistaken; they felt like tiny bubbles inside. But they sparked the beginning of a bond that was forged for 9 months and will last a lifetime.

I have watched him grow into the sprightly little boy he is today. He makes me so happy and so proud and I cherish every moment I have with him. I am so helplessly in love with him I could truly do anything for him.

He has grown to have such a unique personality. Today while I was upstairs he sat on the steps calling me. “Mama I love you” he yelled out. When I came down he asked, “Can I have some candy?”

He’s learning phonics these days and so for every word the first letter is emphasized. While eating his food he observed “ke, ke, kebab”. And sometimes just to be naughty he’ll say the wrong thing on purpose; “A for Nadir!” and then see my reaction.

He thinks everything works like a touch screen. He tries to poke the screen of my laptop and the TV thinking something should happen.

He’s very fond of the outdoors and concerned for nature. We were passing through the neighborhood and saw that some branches of the trees had been cut. He immediately spoke out. “Why are you cutting the trees? Where will the birds sit? On the FLOOR?!” Another time he saw the water sprinklers on and he went and turned them off. “If we waste water, the planet will become sad”.

I love the fact that I am also the most important person for him. At least for now. Till he finds a girl for himself and then I may not be the most important person for him but I like to think he will always have a special place in his heart for me.

My Love, My Son (A Poem)

The First Time I Saw You

Daily Prompt: My Number One

  1. Daily Prompt: My Number One | Under the Monkey Tree
  2. On the Topic of Hope: Sunday, December 22, 2013 | LisaRosier.com
  3. If their being in your life makes your life better, they are very much VIP. | thoughtsofrkh
  4. That special person | Kate Murray
  5. One and only? No many! | Sue’s Trifles
  6. My Number One – the birth of my daughter | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. cherished treasure | peacefulblessedstar
  8. Pittsburgh Lesbian Correspondents
  9. Daily Prompt: Cherish | VNA Images
  10. Show Me Redundancy | The Jittery Goat
  11. S. Thomas Summers | Meeting the Outlaw Jesse James
  12. Daily Prompt: My Number One | Melissa Holden
  13. Christ: My All in All | meanderedwanderings
  14. Lazy humans, mutters the dog | We Live In A Flat
  15. Who is the most important person in my life!? | The Silver Leaf Journal
  16. The Lurker’s List | My Precious and My Number One
  17. A Wahine’s Love Letter | Wahine Wednesdays
  18. My number one. | Hope* the happy hugger
  19. daily prompt: my number one | aimans…..
  20. Daily Prompt: My Number One | Icesabel
  21. Daily Prompt: My Number One | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  22. Before There Was You – A Mommy’s Poem | The Pinterested Parent
  23. My Father: The Provider | K beezy is viral
  24. Daily Prompt: Number One | One Starving Activist
  25. She’s my baby | Journey to Wholeness
  26. Tis You & Only You Girl | The Temenos Journal
  27. Daily Prompt: My Number One « Mama Bear Musings
  28. Bestie. | classically dysfunctional
  29. Cherish | Destino
  30. A Tribute To Mike McMichaels Michaelson | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  31. Daily Prompt: My Number One « cognitive reflection
  32. Daily Prompt: My Number One | Wordz on a Page
  33. My Family – Smart Stunning Searching
  34. frank | charlottesville winter
  35. DAILY PROMPT: MY NUMBER ONE – IN PICTURES | SERENDIPITY
  36. My Precious Ones | Flowers and Breezes
  37. Cherish | Active Army Wife
  38. My Number One | Nothing Worth Having Ever Comes Easy
  39. My Family Makes me #1 | Dreams to Reality !
  40. An Open Letter To ‘Him’ | Shadows Of The Divine
  41. My Number One | The Nameless One
  42. The man I love | wuthering bites
  43. 5-Star Book: CHEF TELL The Biography of America’s Pioneer TV Showman Chef | INTERNATIONAL AUTHOR
  44. Most Important Person in My Life? | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  45. Today’s Daily Prompt: Who Ranks Number One? | Not The Sword But The Pen
  46. Home is Where the Heart Is | Wiley’s Wisdom
  47. My Number One | Just for Fun Drawings
13 thoughts on “My Only One

  1. Pingback: Show Me Redundancy | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: I, Me and Myself | Words 'n Pics...

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Number One | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • Thank you. I hope I’m doing a good job. My son is sometimes so naughty I worry. But in school he is completely different. “Extremely well mannered” says his report.

      • Exactly the same situation with my 5 year old son. I think they understand they need to do their best in school and yet at home, they let loose and let out their frustrations. I can’t blame them. I’m glad to be my son’s “go to” person when he needs to vent. That way I can teach him healthy ways to deal with frustrations. Sometimes I am not a perfect role model though.

      • So at what age do they begin to calm down?
        In my case what adds to the situation is that he’s the only child and his dad works in another country. 😦

      • I’m not sure when they calm down. I’ve read that the frontal lobe of the brain, which involves reasoning and impulsivity, is not fully developed until age 20-ish. My son is also an only child who’s dad has a crazy work schedule. We often wonder if having another child would help. There’s no singular correct answer to that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

