There’s a space-ship in my neighbor’s garage

This is the winning post for the Jan 2014 What if challenge (link given below).

What if you discovered a space-ship in your neighbor’s garage?

I was coming home from my afternoon walk when suddenly I stopped dead in my tracks. There in broad daylight was a shiny white space-ship parked in my neighbor’s garage.

“I knew it” I thought to myself, “I just knew it”. I always knew there was something strange about the neighbors. They had never returned my calls or thanked me for the cookies I sent them nor the chocolates on New Year. And then their two boys were so odd because they never made any noise. I mean how strange is that? I never saw them playing in the garden or heard them shouting or laughing.

I giggled to myself. So my neighbors were aliens. I wondered what they actually looked like. Did they have green skin and one eye in the middle of the forehead? Mrs. Jones always looked so prim and proper with not a hair out of place. But I must say they were being very daring, not even bothering to hide the fact that a space-ship was parked in their garage.

I was just opening my front door when I heard a voice behind me.

“Hello there!” It was Mrs. Jones standing in my driveway in a neat little blue dress.

“Xertang from Mercury is here to see you. They landed in the wrong house and asked if they could keep their space-ship in my garage. I told them of course, what are neighbors for?”

I swore. My secret was out.

http://okaywhatif.com/2014/01/06/new-feature-month-long-writing-challenge-with-voting/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/08/daily-prompt-neighbors/

  1. Lonely Park | muffinscout
  2. Axe-wielding landlady: a true story! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  3. JFK Ultra Walk | Exploratorius
  4. Mr Fall | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Paradox | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. A bird and the boat | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  8. Neighbours | Sue’s Trifles
  9. Yeah, I’m in the habit of phoning weirdo’s and hanging out. | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Next Door | Melibelle in Tokyo
  11. Revenge of the Duck | The Jittery Goat
  12. Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening | Ps and Qs: Photography, Poetry and Quiet
  13. Unseen and Unknown | Finale to an Entrance
  14. adversity | yi-ching lin photography
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Good fences? | Sabethville
  16. Two Hours | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  17. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? « Mama Bear Musings
  18. Fences, Boundaries, and Relationships Prayers and Promises
  19. Mal Vecino! | growinolder
  20. Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie & Neighbors | LenzExperiments
  21. Neighbourhood. | The Word Trance
  22. Good Neighbors, Bad Neighbors « One Crazy Mom
  23. second home first | peacefulblessedstar
  24. Neighbors in a bus! | Notes to self…
  25. [M.M.X.I.V. 39] Mighty Murf | Never A Worry
  26. Who is Truly My Neighbor? | meanderedwanderings
  27. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Beats of Pieces
  28. Lasers, Conspiracies, and Aluminum Hats | Under the Monkey Tree
  29. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | imagination
  30. The Good Doctor | My Author-itis
  31. Evening Jam Session | My Little Avalon
  32. Who is my neighbor? | humblegenealogy
  33. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | An American in Norway, a Citizen of the World
  34. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. Friendly | Active Army Wife
  36. Oh My Neighbor | Flowers and Breezes
  37. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Occasional Stuff
  38. Daily Prompt: Next Door | A Taste of Morning
  39. Living in a New York “Oz” Neighborhood: The Racer, The Smoker, The Harangued Mommy, and The Pet-Friendly Curmudgeon « psychologistmimi
  40. Two different stories | Life is great
  41. Good Fences Do Make Good Neighbors | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  42. Neighbours | VirtuallyAllSorts
  43. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. Best NEIGHbors in the World / Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  45. From a Dog’s Eye-view…wp daily prompt | Daily Observations
  46. CHICKENS, COOPS, CRAZY TURKEYS AND ONE OLD FARMER | SERENDIPITY
  47. Good Fences Do Make Good Neighbours – Eventually | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  48. Childhood neighbors | My Weigh To Lose
  49. Is it really greener on the other side? | MC’s Whispers
  50. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | The Wandering Poet
  51. The Strangest of Places | martha0stout
  52. the blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan
  53. Accidentally Aging | Kosher Adobo
  54. DP: Next door | As I See It
  55. Like a good neighbor, stay over there | Willow’s Corner
  56. Daily Prompt: Good Fences | Finding Life
  57. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  58. Daily Prompt: Fences couldn’t keep me in … | Nicola Kirk
  59. Daily Prompt: Next Door | Occasional Stuff
  60. Yellow In My Neighborhood | Light Words
  61. On the Other Side of the Fence | by LRose
  62. Rats with Wings | field of thorns
  63. lordmikle
  64. Neighbours, Everybody Needs Good Neighbours… | Steve Says….
  65. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  66. Good fences | An Italophile
  67. No One is Home | The Land Slide Photography
  68. Of Love (John Keats’ Next Door Neighbour) | Angela Hickman ~ Poetry
  69. Not yet love | vic briggs
  70. Next door | Dhikrcave
  71. Daily Prompt: Fences (For S) | Finicky Philly
  72. Neighbors: Daily Post | Destino
  73. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | 2l2phant
  74. Good Fences | the word weaver
  75. Hello, Neighbor! | The Teen Theme
  76. Love Thy Neighbor | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  77. Next Door | Travel with Intent
  78. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  79. NED, THE BIKER WHO PLUMBED | SERENDIPITY
  80. Old Jimmy | Overcoming Bloglessness
  81. The Apartment of Sin | Writings of The Midnight Thief
  82. Good Fences? | Wandering Gypsy Spirit
  83. Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  84. NED, THE BIKER WHO PLUMBED | Feature Magazine

31 thoughts on “There’s a space-ship in my neighbor’s garage

  1. Pingback: Febuary What if writing challenge two-fer | Okay, What if ?

  2. Pingback: The Daily Prompt: Mal Vecino! | growinolder

  3. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 39] Mighty Murf | Never A Worry

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Best NEIGHbors in the World / Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  6. Pingback: CHICKENS, COOPS, CRAZY TURKEYS AND ONE OLD FARMER | SERENDIPITY

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: the blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan

  9. Pingback: Two different stories | Life is great

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | imagination

  11. Pingback: Axe-wielding landlady: a true story! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  12. Pingback: Living in a New York “Oz” Neighborhood: The Racer, The Smoker, The Harangued Mommy, and The Pet-Friendly Curmudgeon « psychologistmimi

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  14. Pingback: NED, THE BIKER WHO PLUMBED | SERENDIPITY

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  16. Pingback: Those People Next Door | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  17. Pingback: of good neighbors | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

