The First Time I Saw You

This post has been specifically written for today’s Daily Prompt: Viral

25th Nov 2009 1:24 pm. My world has changed.  I’ve just given birth to a healthy baby boy. I’ve become a mother.

We have named him Nadir which means exceptional in Urdu. The doctor checks the baby and hands him over to me. I look at him for the first time and I’ve already forgotten the ordeals of labor. He’s so small and yet so perfect.

I’m overwhelmed with emotion and the tears start flowing. Tears of relief and gratitude that God has given me a perfect baby. All through my pregnancy it’s been my biggest fear that something terrible will happen. I’ve been praying to Him not to test me with a burden I cannot bear. I’m just not strong enough. And now He’s listened to me and given me a healthy beautiful baby.

Will He grant the rest of my prayers too? When I prayed that let him grow up to be a good person, let him have good health and good fortunes, let him be one who looks after the less fortunate and is a shoulder for his parents in their old age.

And what about my responsibilities? How I care for this child will largely be accountable for the kind of person he grows up to be. I’m ready, I’m ready for that responsibility.

I put my finger in his hand and he wraps his little fingers around it. Does he already know that his mummy is holding him? Does he recognize my voice? He curls up his mouth on one side and I instantly get my answer. It makes me feel that I could do anything and everything for this child. I’m completely and utterly in love.

First photo with Nadir

First photo with Nadir

Other entries:

12 thoughts on “The First Time I Saw You

  1. Pingback: Cutting a swathe through the Literary Body! | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Photo opportunity | Life & Times

  3. Pingback: A Message to the World | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Viral | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Is music really all that great? | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: A Singular Life | The Silver Leaf Journal

  7. Pingback: Remembering you | Natasha's Memory Garden

  8. Pingback: EVERYTHING ENDS | hastywords

Leave a Reply

