Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of Years Past

Phi Phi Island, Thailand

Phi Phi Island, Thailand

27th Oct 2003: I open the curtains and the stunning view leaves me mesmerized. I stare out at the shimmering blue water against the backdrop of a green mountain. Could such beauty really exist? It’s my first trip to the Far East and I’m with my husband who I married a few days ago. It’s the first time we’re together but it doesn’t feel that way. The hesitation I felt in the beginning seems to have melted away.

Security Council, UN HQ, New York

Security Council, UN HQ, New York

10th May 2004: We are at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. We are standing outside wondering how to get in. My husband sends me forward as he thinks I look less of a Pakistani and therefore less suspicious. I get the details and we enter the building. A few hours and many photos later we stop by a McDonalds for lunch. We are touring the United States and have 3 weeks to see as much as we can. I have discovered that my husband loves seeing new places even though he is not too adventurous.

Langkawai Harbor

Langkawai Harbor

16th Nov 2005: We have rented a car to tour the small island of Langkawi in Malaysia. We have already been in the cable car and now we’ll see the rest of the sights by car. I ask my husband if I can drive the car too but he makes an excuse. I have learnt that he likes to be in charge and I don’t mind. I’ll just relax and enjoy the ride.

Isle de Brehat, Brittany, France

Isle de Brehat, Brittany, France

30th Sept 2006: I’m with my colleagues from Pakistan on training in France. We have a car to ourselves and each weekend we visit a new place. Brittany is incredibly beautiful and peaceful. But every night as I lie down to sleep, my heart aches. 5 weeks away from my husband is the longest separation I have had to bear. So this is what being in love feels like.

View from my hotel room, Cairo, Egypt

View from my hotel room, Cairo, Egypt

6th Nov 2007: I can see the Nile from the terrace of my hotel room. The night view is the most gorgeous I have seen. But my mind is thousands of miles away. I wait for my husband to call me. I want to tell him about the incredible room I’ve got. I know he’ll call exactly when he said he will. I know very well how punctual and organized he is. Having to travel without him is such a headache.

Nathiagali, Pakistan

Nathiagali, Pakistan

8th Mar 2009: We are holidaying in a mountain resort in Nathiagali in Pakistan. We have bought our first home together and cannot afford to make an international trip. It has been the biggest achievement of our lives. People take all their lives to build their own home. Although I also made a major contribution I have to say that my husband is the most hard-working man I have ever met.

Father and son fast asleep

Father and son fast asleep

19th Aug 2012: We are on a plane to Maldives for our first international trip with our son. He is old enough now for us to manage well. I have brought his jigsaw puzzles and his coloring pencils to keep him occupied.  But he soon grows bored and wants to go over to his dad. He snuggles up with him and they both fall asleep. I look at the two men in my life and I feel content.

23rd Dec 2013: There is only a day left for me to do our packing. Since we’re going by car I’m not too worried as there are no weight restrictions. But I should make a list of all of my son’s things as they will be the most in number. Toys, clothes, snacks, I really must make a list. I hope it’s not too cold and we can enjoy the beach. I’m sure we’ll have some good family time together. This time of the year is always exciting for me, the end of the year and the start of a new year. A time of hope, reflection and gratitude. It will be the last vacation of the year but God willing there are many more exciting times to come.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of Years Past

  1. Weekly Writing Challenge Response (December 23rds) | starlightfire
  2. This time last year… | Home’s Cool!
  3. As you grow older, your Christmas list gets smaller; the things you really want for the holidays can’t be bought | Never Stationary
  4. A Year Ago Today | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  5. Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past | hippiebitch420
  6. A Theeivening to remember | booksdragonsanddietcoke
  7. Recruiting Minors Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  8. Christmas B & E | Fish Of Gold
  9. The Year I Turned 18 and Met the Messiah | jackiefoxdotnet
  10. Family Ghosts on Roots Day | humblegenealogy
  11. ‘tis three days before christmas | Musings of a Random Mind
  12. Ghosts of December 23rds Past | On Being a Homegirl
  13. Ghosts of December 23rds Past – The Poetic Take | writingequalspassion
  14. Emily’s December 23rd | emilykarn
  15. Ghosts Who Sing | My Play Nook
  16. Ghosts @ HX | HX Report
  17. Weekly Writing Challenge | December 23, 2003 | House of Farts
  18. Ghosts of December 23rds Past | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  19. Christmas in the Pacific Northwest – The Christmas Tree – 2012 | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  20. One Year From Today | lifewithgreeneyes
  21. Festive Reflection | Getting Nowhere Fast
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past | imagination
  23. The Day That Changed Her. | Babbleogue
  24. The December Twenty-thirds of My Dis-belief | A Wild One Within
  25. Weekly Writing Challenge: Twas the night before… | Life of a Fallen Angel
  26. Chapters of Christmas Past | Mary J Melange
  27. Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past, Or: The Christmas Cancellation | polymathically
  28. Galloping Through the Mists of Time | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  29. Stock taking on Dec. 23 | Minnesota Transplant
  30. A Good Date (Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past) | Mod with Love
  31. Ghosts of December 23rds Past (WW Challenge) | Ruminations & Observations
  32. Ghosts of December 23rds Past (Or, Boy Do I Love My Life) | Laughing Through Life
  33. December 23, 2005 | johnautry24
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past | Stories for the Heart
  35. ghosts of december | yi-ching lin photography
  36. there are decembers | y
  37. 23 Desember 2 atau 3 tahun lalu | semangat! (coba-coba)
16 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of Years Past

  1. Pingback: ‘tis three days before christmas | Musings of a Random Mind

  2. Thisis adorable. Going through your beautiful past memories is a lovely experience….I love your photos and the time you cherished with your husband and kid. Best wishes 🙂

  3. Wow love the pics of you and your family! You are so blessed to have seen and experienced the great beauty of our world, & yes I do agree this time of the year is very exciting for the very same reason. A time of hope.

  4. Pingback: of ferocity « Anawnimiss

  5. Pingback: {Weekly Writing Challenge} Ghosts of Christmas Past… | 3rdculturechildren

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Ghosts of December 23rds Past | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

