Dreams and Exams

I usually don’t remember my dreams. But whenever I’m worried about something I have the same dream. I dream that I’m in school and I have an exam to do and I haven’t studied for it. I wake up and I’m glad that I don’t have to do exams any more. At least not in the way we had to in school.

In life everything is one big exam and its preparation is not as easy as reading a book or preparing test questions. Sometimes when you least expect it, a big problem stares back at you and you haven’t the foggiest what to do about it.

These days my biggest test is getting my son to school. Every morning I spend at least half an hour convincing him to go to school. I’ve already checked many times with his teacher and principal and they are very happy with his performance at school and have told me that once he gets to school he has no problems whatsoever.

The problem has increased ever since he visited the big school for assessment. Now he thinks his school is for babies. I’ve tried telling him that the big school won’t take him until he finishes his term at his present school but he’s not convinced. The last few times I got him to school when I told him I would race him inside.

As far as dreams are concerned my son has very vivid and imaginative dreams. Sometimes he feels the need to wake me up in the middle of the night and tell me about them. At other times he waits till the morning to tell me in great detail about his dreams. They are more like stories with a beginning, middle and end. Sometimes they also change during the day while he is telling different people about them.

I envy him sometimes. I wish I could dream of dragons and beanstalks and bravery and adventure.

20130303_212959Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams

  1. Back In Bug and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  2. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams- The Psychology of Dreaming | Journeyman
  3. Deliverance | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Fairy Wings- Non Fiction | Rose-tinted Rambles
  5. Sky on floor level | Le Drake Noir
  6. Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  7. I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES
  8. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  9. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  10. Nighmare | Mara Eastern
  11. One Crazy Mom » My Worst Nightmare
  12. Imaginary | La Gatita Oscura
  13. Care to Dare | Rima Hassan
  14. Best Dream: YOU – Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  15. thoughtsofrkh
  16. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | The Wandering Poet
  17. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams? | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  18. Truman Capote Dreams /Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  19. DP Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams( Are made of… | Sabethville
  20. Nightmares | Hope* the happy hugger
  21. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) « Mama Bear Musings
  22. I Dreamt of Heaven | Misifusa’s Blog
  23. It’s 3am, I Must Be Up Reading Your Blog | Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please
  24. Speed of Light | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  25. This is What a Free Sailboat Looks Like | Exploratorius
  26. Daily Prompt: Worst Nightmare, 26.02.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  27. Daily post:sweet dreams | Going New Places!
  28. Since I was Prompted | Treading over Stars
  29. Imaginary: Daily Post | Destino
  30. “I need to climb the cherry tree to get to the marshmallows” | jigokucho
  31. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  32. The prophetic nature of my Puerto Rican dreams « psychologistmimi
  33. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | snippets and words
  34. Sweet Dreams | Knowledge Addiction
  35. Anselo’s Poetry – A Story – Part 7 | Kilbo – Chris Kilbourn
  36. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  37. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Basically Beyond Basic
  38. What Are Dreams Made Of? | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  39. Daily Post: Imaginary | Different Isn’t Wrong, It’s Just Different
  40. It’s another Nightmare | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  41. Recurring Nightmares (Are Made of This) | Virginia Views
  42. Accused | Life is great
  43. Nightmares | Flowers and Breezes
  44. Raging Inferno | Views Splash!
  45. Mall Stampede | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  46. Imaginary | The Land Slide Photography
  47. Dreams are made of this… Who am I to disagree | An Upturned Soul
  48. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams – Mark II, Mod VI | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  49. Reality vs. Dreaming | Busy Mind Thinking
  50. When reality is a nightmare… | A picture is worth 1000 words
  51. Dark Waters | Vampire Maman
  52. Book Excerpt | Sarah’s Typos
  53. It’s Like I Dreamed You Into Life | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  54. Sweet dreams are made of this. | The Shevster’s Space

18 thoughts on “Dreams and Exams

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. I hate anxiety dreams – in mine even if I realize it’s a dream there are times I can’t wake myself up and so the next day you’re just so exhausted despite the sleep.

  3. If only we could have those sweet imagination dreams again huh? we’d probably have better days lol I’m the same way as you are on when it comes to dreaming about stuff 🙂

  4. I think everyone everywhere has that same dream about not studying for the test. My other one is being at school, walking by a classroom and remembering with horror that I was supposed to be in that class, but had forgotten to go all year. High school insecurity rearing it’s ugly head.

  5. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  6. Pingback: DREAMS OF ARMAGEDDON | hastywords

  7. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS | hastywords

  8. Pingback: No Idris Elba, I will not marry you! | Altared Egos

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: El Dreamo | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: I dreamed a dream of time … wait, it was something … hold on. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  13. Pingback: Raging Inferno | Views Splash!

  14. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

  15. Pingback: The prophetic nature of my Puerto Rican dreams « psychologistmimi

Leave a comment