Dollars, Dirhams & Pounds

I worked for ten years in a telecom multinational. I traveled around the world for workshops, meetings and training and made enough money to buy a house in my home country. When I had a baby I gave up my job and stayed at home to be a mother. My priorities had changed and I felt I had to devote myself to being a mother.

My role as a mother has been more rewarding and far reaching than my job could ever be when I consider that the way I look after my son will affect the kind of person he grows up to be. As an adult he will affect the lives of so many people around him. It’s like a chain effect and the starting point is a mother.

Despite that sometimes I miss the fact that I no longer make money. I feel like I may not be living up to my full potential if I cannot generate an income. What use are my PMP and Six Sigma Black belt and all my experience if I cannot even land a dime.

Actually I did land a dime recently. I did some market surveys online and when I got paid for it I felt I had accomplished something even though it wasn’t even enough to have a decent meal for two.  I have even looked for opportunities to work online from home but haven’t really found something interesting.

I don’t want to go back to a full time job because I don’t want to neglect my son. Being there for my son is my number one priority. There is no doubt about it.

But why do I have this feeling of inadequacy? And what would I do with the money even if I was making it? Just pay a part of it to charity and put the rest in the bank. Why would that give me satisfaction? I don’t even understand it myself. Is there something about making money that is addictive? Would it satisfy my ego?

What do you think?

Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough

  1. Girl Taking Photo of Herself Through a Mirror « Inside my glitching mind
  2. Addicted… | The Rider
  3. addiction | hitting a brick wall
  4. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough When I’m With You | Awl and Scribe
  5. Daily Propmt: Can’t Get Enough | Under the Monkey Tree
  6. Can’t Get Enough – FM Addiction | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. What it feels like to be addicted | The Magic Black Book
  8. ლCaFF-Eine BuzZzZzლ | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  9. I’m A Daily Promptaholic | The Jittery Goat
  10. buttered | yi-ching lin photography
  11. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough
  12. Addiction? Oh yeah « RPMAS
  13. Celebrate Good Times. | gypsy thoughts ..
  14. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough #photography | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  15. I do hope there’s a rehab for singleness | JC Bride ~
  16. On Facing Harsh Realities | The Magic Black Book
  17. My Toy Box | Kate Murray
  18. Only ever so slightly addictive me | thoughtsofrkh
  19. Addicted to ‘love’ | alienorajt
  20. Daily Post: “Can’t Get Enough” | The Adventures of Rain Dance Megan
  21. Can’t Get Enough | The River Mom
  22. of course i’m an addict | wannabepoet
  23. Add diction – A very short post | Neva Samaki
  24. Big Girl Now But Still Hungry | Virginia Views
  25. Can’t Get Enough | Motherhood and Beyond
  26. Alas, stopped daydreaming | crookedeyebrows
  27. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Wordz on a Page
  28. My Coffee Addiction-Peet’s is Poo | Mac’s Blog
  29. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough « Mama Bear Musings
  30. Addiction… | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  31. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Love.Light.Life.
  32. Devotion on the Web | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  33. The Beauty of Autumn (Addicting) | photo potpourri
  34. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. PROJECT R – Continued | vicbriggs’s blog
  36. WIZARD BATTLES and the longest post I’ve ever made! | I’m just Super Saiyan
  37. Things I can’t get enough of… | Processing the life
  38. SAFE DRINKING RULES | Emotional Fitness
  39. Surfer Rob’s outlook on addiction | Rob’s Surf Report
  40. ✗• smoke 2 joints •✗ | The RunningFather Blog
  41. The Withdraw: Daily Writing Prompt | Finicky Philly
  42. I’m done- it’s about me now | tornin2’s Blog
  43. I had my cat | Life is great
  44. The Year Of The Cat | Just Visiting This Planet
  45. Obsession | A Wandering Writer
  46. My Strange Addiction | A String of Pearls
  47. You’re my obsession – CombatBabe
  48. Addicted… | Haiku By Ku
  49. Up to my knees in.. | Take your Chances; Make it Happen
  50. Addiction? I Have No Addiction! | Stuphblog
  51. Daily Prompt; Can’t Get Enough | terry1954
  52. Addicting | Shine Bright
  53. The Lost World | Flowers and Breezes
  54. “Can’t Get Enough” | Relax
  55. More! | The Silver Leaf Journal
  56. DARKER SIDE OF NIGHT by HastyWords | hastywords
  57. Addiction | Life Confusions
  58. Spellbound and Loving It | Daily Observations
  59. Can’t Get Enough Pepper | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  60. The Life of a Spoon Dealer – By: NCBEK | Incessant Ramblings
  61. One Starving Activist

8 thoughts on “Dollars, Dirhams & Pounds

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Money is how we get rewarded for doing something “valuabe” for society. But the two don’t always match. Compare lawyers to teachers, for example. Why are teachers the least well paid? You have to decide what is is worthwhile, independent of how much it makes you.

  3. I feel the same as you do, inadequate as bringing in a paycheck. taking care of my brother is full time but the pay is in rewards instead of money. If you find a job online that is legitimate, let me know. I have been searching for some time now

  4. Pingback: Things I can’t get enough of… | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s outlook on addiction | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: I had my cat | Life is great

Leave a comment