Excitement of making a new home

My husband had been posted in the volatile Frontier province and he traveled armed and with a bodyguard ready to thwart any kidnapping or robbery attempts.  I was living and working in the capital city and I would see him on the weekends and when he traveled back it was not until he messaged me of his safe arrival that I could relax again.

One year passed, then two, and when we had our first baby, a son, my husband decided he had had enough. He began to apply for jobs abroad especially in the Gulf region. He was called for a couple of interviews in Dubai and we began to hope. Finally an offer came, but to our disappointment it was not good enough. Then another and this time the offer was far better than our expectations. We were ecstatic.

We were to move to another country after living 30 odd years in the country of our birth. A new life, a better life awaited. We were moving away from all the insecurities. And best of all we would be together. I remember I couldn’t sleep the first night with anticipation. My mind was too full of what was to be done and how great everything would be. I had already quit my job a few months after the birth of my son and now I had a new project “Move to and Settle in Dubai” to initiate, plan, execute, monitor and close.

We arrived in Dubai three summers ago. It took us a few months to settle in. I remember the excitement and rush I felt when I first saw our home. And the big backyard that came with it. The prospects of little Nadir soon running around in it. Decorating his nursery. Decorating the house with all the things I had collected on our travels that had previously been stuffed in cupboards because of lack of space. Making this house our home.

Other entries:

  1. Nature’s Contrast | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. The Man Who Was Too Fond of Bugs | Godrick Gnomish
  3. 2020 Vision for Tokyo; Awarded Olympic Games | DCMontreal
  4. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | fictitious1
  5. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Vagabond
  6. Lick or Even Eat Books | Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | likereadingontrains
  7. Daily Prompt: Excitement | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  8. Actually, it never really started | Life & Times
  9. A Slow Excitement | The Ambitious Drifter
  10. I finally did it | Improving Slowly
  11. #BenedictCumberbatch | vicbriggs’s Blog
  12. Excitement | Hope* the happy hugger
  13. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Under the Monkey Tree
  14. The Many Faces Of Lucifer: Excitement | Mareship
  15. Rob’s Surf Report
  16. Daily Prompt: Excitement – The Terrapin Rescue | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  17. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends « Mama Bear Musings
  18. Duncan the Sushi Roll #10 | Neva Samaki
  19. Excitement never ends: We meet again | storyofmylife1993
  20. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends
  21. Excitement! | kawaneehamilton
  22. Mack Moran’s Gets Published (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  23. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  24. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Encounter with a night cat | We Live In A Flat
  26. Daily Prompt: Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! | M. L. Trefry
  27. The fruits of stresses | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  28. Welcome Autumn… | {msphotography’s} chaoticwhitespace
  29. Bad Margaritas and Pecan Flan : The Excitement Never Ends | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  30. 166. Excited Beyond Words | kevindeisher
  31. Sunset and a Moonlit Night in Oia, Santorini | Life is a Vacation
  32. Hemmingway was right | Romelga writes
  33. Daily Prompt – Excitement | awritersfountain
  34. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends – I found the Key ! | littlegirlstory
  35. “The couch is more comfortable than the sidwalk.” | Motherhood and Beyond
  36. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Moving Home to America | The Journey of My Feet
  37. Daily Prompt: Riding the rails at Busch Gardens | SERENDIPITY
  38. What if I was super, duper EXCITED? | Okay, what if ?
  39. Excitement? Video cameras? Cops? Screaming soon to be ex? No? Bother. « RPMAS
  40. Excited? Not with my inner selves at work… | thoughtsofrkh
  41. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | THE WRITE PLACE
  42. My not-so-secret secret! | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  43. Daily Prompt: Excitement | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  44. Fueling excitement with sugar. | Zen Scribbles
  45. The Ultimate Travel Writer’s Workshop | theinbetweendream
  46. My excitement led to action! | Sue’s Trifles
  47. Excitement (2): Clandestine Expectation | The Silver Leaf Journal
  48. Excitement (1): Eagerly Waiting | The Silver Leaf Journal
  49. Excitement !! | Better Than Reality
  50. Daily Prompt: Excitement | @ The West Gate
  51. On the tip of a pointe | MC’s Whispers
  52. I Love You More Than More | My [redacted] Journey
  53. The Excitement Never Ends | Flowers and Breezes
  54. Don’t Mess With My Emotions, Woman! | Molly Greye
  55. The Excitement Never Ends | The Nameless One
  56. Small things excite me…. | Defined Imperfection♡s
  57. He’s coming home…. | My life! My Way!
  58. Elation – By: NCBEK | Incessant Ramblings
  59. Daily Prompt: Nothing Here Excites Me Anymore | Morrighan’s Muse

2 thoughts on “Excitement of making a new home

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The excitement Never Ends | prettywitgla33es

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a comment