Any tips on a book reading?

I’m having my first book reading at the end of the month. I’ll be reading out the two children’s books I’ve written and animating with finger puppets and props. The location is a nice little place here in Dubai with activities for children.

 I’ve designed the flyer and am in the process of printing it out. I have to do 50 flyers for the lady whose place I’m having the book reading plus more for people I’ll be inviting. I hope my printer doesn’t break down.

It’s good that my son’s nursery has started so I have some time in the mornings. Once I’m ready I’m going to do a dress rehearsal with him and my nephews to see what they think.

 I’m really excited and a bit nervous too. What if nobody turns up, worse what if too many kids turn up and it’s so noisy that no one can hear me. I’ve given my number on my flyer to have people confirm their places. So I hope we will know exactly how many are coming a few days before the event.

 

So after the book reading there will be a book signing of course provided someone wants to buy my book. That all depends on how the book reading goes. I’ve already practiced signing the book on some of the copies I’ve sold/ given out.

I haven’t mentioned what my books are about. They’re about my son and his adventures. I’ve done the illustrations myself as well. I hope he’ll be proud of his Mama when he’s older and can understand!

Your tips on my upcoming book reading are most welcome. Would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Any tips on a book reading?

Leave a Reply

