DIY Birthday Party

Google is my lifeline. I use it all the time. I have learnt so many things online.

At the moment most of my searches are related to my son’s upcoming birthday party. Since he is really fond of fairy tales I decided to have this as the theme. I usually do everything myself from the decorations to the games and goodies bags to the birthday invitations and even the envelopes! It’s fun and doesn’t cost so much.

I first looked for invitation card ideas and images I could use and edit. I found one which had pictures from several fairy tales and which aptly fit my theme. I made the cards using Adobe Photoshop and used colored paper for the envelopes.

invitation 2

I then looked for ideas  for games. I settled on having an obstacle course in my backyard and found some great ideas on Google. I adapted these according to my theme so instead of the kids walking on a curvy skipping rope  they’ll be pretending to walk on Red Riding Hood’s path in the forest and if they stray from the path the wicked wolf is waiting for them. And when they’ll run from one point to another they will also be dropping pebbles like Hansel. Climbing up the ladder they will pretend it’s Jack’s beanstalk.

I also found some interesting ideas on Yahoo answers and I’ll be having the children decorate paper crowns and wear these instead of party hats.

With the games and activities settled, next I looked for the decorations. This was a bit hard. I found really fancy stuff like elaborate tables and castles and magic coaches. I can’t do any of that. So I just looked up some images of Red Riding Hood and Jack and the Beanstalk and decided to paint child size pictures on cardboard as decorations. Then I had a great idea. Why not cut out the face and let the children pose as these characters? I think if I manage to do it nicely it will be a big hit.

I haven’t decided on the goodies bags yet. They will be having the standard candy and stationery items but i’ll get plain bags and decorate them either with a Gingerbread man or with a Red hood.

And then the food. I found some really nice ideas on Google and customized them according to the theme. I’ll be serving sandwiches and spring rolls and labeling them The Mad Hatter’s Party, oatmeal cookies will be in a basket labeled Red Riding Hood’s basket. And maybe I’ll add baked beans and call them Jack’s magic beans. I’m not compromising on the cake though. It has to be my son’s favorite chocolate cake without all the fancy pictures and lettering that nobody wants to eat.

Lastly I used Google to find a place nearby which deals in party supplies. I’ll be renting the tables and chairs from there and will see if I can pick up any other interesting things there as well.

I hope it all turns out to be like I’ve planned. I’m so excited, even more than my son!

Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation

  1. Uncharted Territory |
  2. One monster’s island | shame
  3. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. The Good, The Bad, The Ugly | In Harmony
  5. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | Basically Beyond Basic
  6. life sends bundled | y
  7. Do All Dogs Go To Heaven? | sayanything
  8. “Searching” | Relax
  9. What is a chapbook | Now Have At It!
  10. Research and Google | Kate Murray
  11. Old MacDonald | Motherhood and Beyond
  12. My Last Google | Dear Yolandi
  13. Wherever You Throw Me, I Will Stand | An Upturned Soul
  14. Google and Rescue Operation
  15. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | Awl and Scribe
  16. Red | Nature Activities
  17. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | Faraziyya
  18. The Bed | Bright Moments Catcher
  19. Milkweed Bugs (Searching) | photo potpourri
  20. Alien on the fence | Bright Moments Catcher
  21. True or False | JC Bride ~
  22. Thoughtless | thinkerscap
  23. André from Holland | Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation
  24. My Google Endeavours | Fruit Salad
  25. Feeding the street cat | Rural Tourism in Russia
  26. 212. Alicia Ann Lynch | Barely Right of Center
  27. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | Completely Disappear
  28. Google Search Leads to Hilarity | Stuphblog
  29. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation « Mama Bear Musings
  30. Daily Prompt: Sherlock of the Interwebz | One Starving Activist
  31. The Lurker’s List | Functional Gifts
  32. Daily Prompt Reply: Google and Rescue Operation | Random Access Theater
  33. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | life n me!
  34. Brambles and Grass | Kansa Muse
  35. Google and Rescue Operation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. TEN | crookedeyebrows
  37. Knit’s just the beginning . . . | Rob’s Surf Report
  38. SEEK AND THOU SHALT FIND … USUALLY ON GOOGLE | SERENDIPITY
  39. I Lift My Eyes Up | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  40. Mom | The Visionary Hollow
  41. The Google Help | Flowers and Breezes
  42. Verify Your Facts | Death’s Opinions On Life
  43. The Meaning of Life According To Google | Just Visiting This Planet
  44. I am a Bloodhound not a Watchdog | Expressions
  45. Lotus flower | Life is great
  46. Google Tells Me 5 Ways To Kill A Man | dark circles, etc
  47. Madden NFL 25 [Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation] | unknowinglee
  48. Last search | Emotional Fitness
  49. Isabelle Isabelle | The Otter in my Jotter
  50. Daily Prompt: Google & Rescue Operation | Steve Says….
  51. Google and Rescue Operation | The Nameless One
  52. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue | Life In The Passenger Seat
  53. If moon was as close as ISS | Blogging Vogging…
  54. air show | tjbarkerseattle
  55. Rusty | Danny James
  56. Wonder Wednesday: What Colors Do You See? | Light Words
  57. Surviving Progress; An Elder Speaks….(WP daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  58. Google Look Up | Going New Places!
  59. Extending My Credit Line – Compass & Quill
  60. A Bird in the Hand | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  61. Daily Prompt: Searching for God’s Rescue for Victims of Abuse | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  62. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | iChristian
  63. Free AVI Player | Blog
  64. Unsquare Uncup | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  65. Daily Prompt: Searching | Wahine Wednesdays
  66. FIND A WOMAN IN THIS PAINTING | Standing Ovation, Seated
  67. Pirates of the Mediterranean | djgarcia94
  68. Searching searching | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  69. Download Fix Player | Blog
  70. 42 | Historiefortelling
  71. Cemetery | The Lesser Canine
  72. Googling… | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  73. Curse me and my liking of expensive pretty things… | thoughtsofrkh
  74. The All-Knowing Trash Heap | Bright Tuesday
  75. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation « The Blogging Path
  76. Searching (Daily Post) | Fallen Apostate
  77. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | adorablyobnoxious
  78. Daily Prompt Challenge – Searching for a Way Out | soletusknow
  79. Daily Prompt: Searching | Write Through Life
  80. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | GG’s World
  81. Daily Prompt; Google and Rescue Operation | terry1954
  82. Daily Prompt: Searching | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  83. Daily Prompt: Google and Rescue Operation – Jersey Boys | 아토 (Ato)
  84. The distance between …. | Empressnasigoreng’s Blog
  85. Search and Rescue | Wiley’s Wisdom
  86. Searching: In A Sea Black With Ink | carellyn
  87. The Search | A Simple Point in Time
  88. A Crash-Course in Fashion | tuckedintoacorner
  89. Searching To Survive. | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
  90. Googling for… the mundane? | Scribblings from the Bluegrass
  91. Searching change in words, arts, science | marsowords
  92. Plexiglass. | Eye of Lynx
  93. Searching: Free Poppies | Aurora Morealist
  94. Have a problem, Google search | Shetall says
  95. What does the search say ?! | Evanesco Waffles
  96. Superstitions | Whistling Voices

15 thoughts on “DIY Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: Rusty | Danny James

  2. Pingback: Google Tells Me 5 Ways To Kill A Man | dark circles, etc

  3. Pingback: Google and Rescue Operation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. I agree- Google is my lifeline!! Anytime I have a question, my husband says, “Go ask Uncle Google!” My “uncle” knows everything!!

  5. Pingback: 42 | Historiefortelling

  6. Pingback: Lotus flower | Life is great

  7. Pingback: Googling… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: Knit’s just the beginning . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: A FEW THINGS | hastywords

  10. Pingback: of narcissism | Anawnimiss

Leave a comment