The Playground Bully

Describe the last time you were surprised by the intensity of a feeling you had about something.

My son and I had been invited to a birthday party. There were a few games inside the hall and then the children could go out in the grounds to play. The older children started playing cricket and my son headed for the playground.

He had spotted a “spout” as he called it from the “Incy Wincy Spider” nursery rhyme, one of those tube slides that you find in a lot of playgrounds. He happily went towards it. There was a cute little girl my son’s age playing nearby while her nanny watched her.

“Hello!” said my son to the little girl smiling sweetly.

“Oh, you’re just a baby!” replied the girl losing all her cuteness.

“I’m not a baby!” said my son and started crying.

Then it was that moment when in cartoons one of the characters turns into a lion snarling at the inhumane human while protecting the little cub. I was that lion and I just wanted to smack that girl for making my little darling cry. It really hurt to see those big tears rolling down his cheeks. Somehow I felt even worse than when he falls down and hurts himself. This was different. Another child had hurt his feelings deliberately and without any reason.

“He’s not a baby!” I said glaring at the girl and her nanny who was least interested in the conversation.

I tried to console my son but he was inconsolable. He tells me several times in the day that he’s my cutest baby in the world but when the little girl called him a baby it was the biggest insult for him. I diverted his attention to the slide and after five long minutes he stopped crying. He didn’t attempt to talk to the girl again.

To this day when we go that playground I’m reminded of this incident and am apprehensive about my son playing there but apparently he has forgotten and doesn’t mind playing there.

Daily Prompt: Intense

  1. Why does my dog hump other people/dogs? | We Live In A Flat
  2. False Labour Pains
  3. Autumn colours (Intense) | photo potpourri
  4. Rural Tourism in Russia. Accordion player | Rural Tourism in Russia
  5. Cat in the window | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. A year of writing and a birthday | Now Have At It!
  7. Cooking fish | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. That’s a Hard Limit | submissivelysecret
  9. Balalaika | Nature Activities
  10. Intense, like no other | Never Stationary
  11. Daily Prompt: Intense! | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. Daily Prompt: Intense! | Awl and Scribe
  13. intensity huh? | wannabepoet
  14. The Real Me | Life Confusions
  15. Intense | The Magic Black Book
  16. Horse Hill | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  17. Stolen bests | shame
  18. Daily Prompt: Intense! | My Atheist Blog
  19. Intense care : Need of the hour | Processing the life
  20. intense | yi-ching lin photography
  21. Intensity – A very short post | Neva Samaki
  22. My Shampoo Tried to Kill Me | Get Write Down To It
  23. Transformation | crookedeyebrows
  24. The First Experience of an American in a Russian Banya | Rural Tourism in Russia
  25. Escalator Etiquette | The verbal hedge
  26. Separation Anxiety | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  27. Daily Prompt Intense: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/daily-prompt-intense/ | Kawanee’s Korner
  28. Intensity of feeling? The end of WordPress.com | RPMAS
  29. Intense Sunset | Misifusa’s Blog
  30. Daily Prompt: Intense! | Basically Beyond Basic
  31. Daily Prompt: Intense | The Temenos Journal
  32. Daily Prompt: Intense | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. intense | sarahscapes
  34. 211. Intensity Over Abortion | Barely Right of Center
  35. No rest 4 the weary | not4faintheartsblog
  36. Daily Prompt: Intense November 2013 ~ NaBloPoMo ~ #4 « Mama Bear Musings
  37. Daily Prompt: Grawr! | One Starving Activist
  38. NO!vember | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  39. DP Challenge: One Intense Pit Bull « Morning Pages
  40. André from Holland | Deadline – An intense experience
  41. Intense | Lunatic Writing
  42. I Didn’t Use To Be A Sobber | Momma Roars
  43. Too Intense: I Think Not! | Dear Yolandi
  44. BLACK | JC Bride ~
  45. Intensity? | Fruit Salad
  46. Why so intense, Surfer Rob? | Rob’s Surf Report
  47. INTENSE! | thoughts and entanglements
  48. Intensity at its acme? | Eye of Lynx
  49. Those intervals between days | tjbarkerseattle
  50. Jupiter Rising | Just Visiting This Planet
  51. Intensity… | Haiku By Ku
  52. Batman should not be the only one fighting crime | MC’s Whispers
  53. I’m in tears | Life is great
  54. Daily Prompt: Life Is Intense | My Daily Prompt Blog
  55. The Stare Down……. | The Land Slide Photography
  56. The Intense Joy | Flowers and Breezes
  57. Unavailable | Kansa Muse
  58. Beans on toast and a woolly jumper… | On My Front Porch
  59. Fulfilling Promises to a Ghost | Cheri Speak

7 thoughts on “The Playground Bully

  1. Pingback: The hurricane’s eye | Historiefortelling

  2. Pingback: Intense Sunlight | Eyes to Heart

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Intense | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Intense reaction | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Why so intense, Surfer Rob? | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: SO… I LOVE YOU | hastywords

  7. Pingback: of loss | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

