School Days

I’m the youngest of 3 siblings, with a sister and brother, 4 and 5 years older. They both topped their classes in school and when I entered my O’ Levels the same was expected from me. I had the same teachers and some of them insisted on calling me by my sister’s name. My principal even announced in front of the whole school community that she expected me to top also.

I didn’t study half as much as my older siblings and my mother feared I would fail in a few subjects.

So much to the surprise of my mother and to the relief of my principal, I did top my class even though I didn’t get as many “As” as my siblings.

Word count: 120

Written for:

https://rantingalong.blog/2018/10/04/joelles-tales-first-thursday-of-the-month-tmat120-writing-prompt-for-october-2018/

3 thoughts on “School Days

  1. Sometimes we wonder how we survived childhood. It helps to be the smartest sibling, as you discovered.
    Strange how word count works. I use Word to do a count. Sometimes it’s off by a few. 🙂

      • That explains it. 🙂 I’ve used the WordPress editor, too and found that it doesn’t always jive with Word. I was just looking at some of your jewelry. You’re quite talented.

Leave a comment