God’s Grace

Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation. What was the outcome?

Everyone goes through testing times in life, but I have always been blessed and even in difficult times there has been light at the end of the tunnel.

One such time was when my husband was posted in the Frontier Province and I was living in Islamabad around 2 hours away by car. I was pregnant with my first child after 6 years of marriage and 2 miscarriages. I was on tenterhooks the whole time because I was afraid something might happen. On top of it my husband was not there to comfort me.

Not only was I worried for myself and my unborn child, but for my husband as well. He was in an area where kidnapping for ransom was becoming a common thing and already one of his colleagues had been kidnapped. Whenever he would travel back to his compound after the weekend I would be a bunch of nerves until he would message me that he had safely arrived.

I was also working full time at that time and although my boss was very accommodating, I still had to go through the usual stresses of work.

I used to go for my check ups and ultrasounds on my own as the doctor was close to my office and I would go from there. In the beginning of my pregnancy I got a severe UTI (infection) and had to have antibiotics IV. Thankfully I survived that although having a canula was extremely uncomfortable.

Following this hiccup, my pregnancy progressed well and even though my blood sugar levels were a bit high, I managed to maintain them by controlling my diet.

In my 8th month there was an attempted burglary in my house and I was the one to discover it. Somehow the burglar ran away after breaking open the main door and no harm was done. But it did give me a big scare.

Towards the end of my pregnancy, my doctor was worried that I was not gaining enough weight and she gave me a medical certificate to take leave from work. My husband took a month off from work and my mother also came to stay with me so I was not alone any more.

When I delivered a healthy beautiful baby boy, there was as much relief as there was joy. But going through this time I discovered that I was never really alone. God was always there.

Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim

  1. Russian Accordionist | Photos to inspire you
  2. Perseverance | The Magic Black Book
  3. Sink or Swim | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Persist | thinkerscap
  5. Sink, Swim or Fly | The Ambitious Drifter
  6. Endure | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  7. Alone Again Naturally | Finale to an Entrance
  8. DEPRESSED OPTIMIST + PAINTS + BRUSHES | Standing Ovation, Seated
  9. The deep end of the pool | RPMAS
  10. PROMPT: Sink or Swim | AvaLlea’s Blog
  11. Silent Agony… | paperdollsletter
  12. Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely | The Jittery Goat
  13. I said loudly, in my best English tourist voice, “Does this go to…” | thoughtsofrkh
  14. True beauty | Veni, vici, vidi
  15. The Tow Truck Driver Drove a Chariot
  16. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Awl and Scribe
  17. Sinking not an option for cowards | crookedeyebrows
  18. Women in East : One Perspective ! | Dreams to Reality !
  19. Winter Water | The Ring Lady
  20. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – A migrant’s story | littlegirlstory
  21. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Finding Life
  22. Whatever It Takes | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  23. Sink or swim? | Motherhood and Beyond
  24. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – My Car Buying Experience | The Story of a Guy
  25. When life steals your lemons… | Words
  26. Perseverance in Harness | Kansa Muse
  27. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  28. Sink or Swim? So limiting… | It’s my blog, innit…
  29. Even a Fool Can See | Not a Punk Rocker
  30. Learning Patience… | Haiku By Ku
  31. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Basically Beyond Basic
  32. Daily Prompt: Dive! Dive! Dive! | One Starving Activist
  33. The debate | Life is great
  34. “By Myself” | Active Army Wife
  35. DP Challenge: Sink or Swim « Morning Pages
  36. Tree Trials | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  37. Sink or Swim? | mineisdee
  38. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim/ Out on my Own | The Smallest of Stars
  39. Sing or Swim – Compass & Quill
  40. Sink or Swim | Bright Tuesday
  41. Drown or paddle | LauGraEva
  42. ALONE WITH SHAME | Emotional Fitness
  43. Daily Prompt: Scar | Morrighan’s Muse
  44. At The End Of My Last Dime! | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  45. Blue Loft
  46. The Glowing Tree | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  47. Glub, glub, glub … (sink or swim) | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  48. Extreme business as usual | Le Drake Noir
  49. Treading Water | A Good One
  50. Daily Post:Sink or Swim #poetry #photography #dpchallenge | Moondustwriter’s Blog
  51. Old Glory | Real Life Co.
  52. Constant | Words on a Page
  53. Leap of Faith | A Room of One’s Own
  54. Loneliness sucks! | The Flavored Word
  55. On My Own | Flowers and Breezes
  56. Stranger | Radioactive Bubblegum
  57. Out of My Comfort Zone | The Mockingbird in Me
  58. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Winging it
  59. Daily Prompt/Critical Care | The Between
  60. Hanging chickens, washing machines and a screaming pink smell | Many musings blog’s Blog
  61. Sink or Swim – Part 1 | A Story About A Girl
  62. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts
  63. A Hundred and Four Questions with No Answers | Virginia Views
  64. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim…Hit or Miss, What will you Pick? | Isabel MissV
  65. Sinking While Swimming | Mountains or Molehills
  66. Sink or Swim | The Pigeon Blog
  67. Sink or Swim | I Write Therefore I Am
  68. Sink or Swim! ACK!!!!! The stress!!! *grumble* | Kawanee’s Korner
  69. Sink or Swim | draccoonian
  70. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Pampered Pussy
  71. Day and Night | Retrofocus
  72. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim. | eBook Sharing
  73. Sink or Swim: Perseverance | My Conscious Self
  74. Perseverance… The Word for the Day (Hebrews 12:1) | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  75. I found blood and I saw stars | Peace, Puppies, and Mimoसे (Formerly The Lesser Canine)
  76. Perseverance | 18 million pixels
  77. Seeing Through the Fog | Wiley’s Wisdom
  78. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim (Joint Post) | A Midnight Blog
  79. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | adorablyobnoxious
  80. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  81. Swink or Sim | Aurora Morealist
  82. Aurora Morealist
  83. Sink or Swim that is the lessons of life | Shetall says
  84. The Nursery Room | Abby vs. The World
  85. vic briggs
  86. Response to Daily Post’s Daily Prompt | The life of one woman…
  87. Sink or swim…. | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  88. Rob’s Surf Report
21 thoughts on “God’s Grace

  1. Pingback: Sink or swim? | Motherhood and Beyond

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – My Car Buying Experience | The Story of a Guy

  3. Pingback: Perseverance in Harness | Kansa Muse

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Post:Sink or Swim #poetry #photography #dpchallenge | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Pingback: The debate | Life is great

  7. Pingback: Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Sink or swim…. | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: LEFT OR RIGHT | victor's mind

  11. Pingback: Sink or Swim? So limiting… | It's my blog, innit...

  12. Pingback: EMOTIONAL BONDAGE | hastywords

  13. Pingback: Destroy Build | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

