Dare to Imagine

20131206_090859

“I’m not Nadir!” said the distraught little boy, “I’m Jack the Cheetah!”

“Alright, whatever, just finish your food, we’re leaving now.”

As Jack stuffed his mouth with the last bit of chicken  and got up to leave, he passed his hand on his back and smiled. His tail had grown longer.

The photo is of my son Nadir, Jack on the other hand refused to be photographed.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty

  1. I Had A Date | Musings | The Wangsgard
  2. 50 Word Challnege: Dreaming of Ice Cream | Kosher Adobo
  3. Changed her tune | Plan-It Janet
  4. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  5. This week’s journey: First two days in 50 words | Procurrent
  6. Playing By the Rules Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  7. Steam for Breakfast | mfourlbyhfourepoetry
  8. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty | Loin de zanzibar
  9. Fifty | April B
  10. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty | In my world
  11. Maybe in June | Artfully Aspiring
  12. Missed Connections | Fish Of Gold
  13. A 50 Words Story: Reaching The Dream | Navigate
  14. Mice | Kate Murray
  15. DPchallenge – Fifty (March 22) | Spiritual Biscuits
  16. Fifty | Mindful Digressions
  17. alternative | A beetle with earrings
  18. Weekly Writing Challenge – 50 | jwdwrites
  19. In Spring, She Had Proof! | a contract
  20. Heart | Schneider’s Lines
  21. Dreams Come True
  22. turn the page | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  23. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty: Jubilee | Angela McCauley
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty | Lost in Oz- Dorothy Kent
  25. Fifty…Just Fifty Words… | Blundering through life…
  26. The Time Machine | Eclecticfemale’s Blog
  27. Into the endless blue skies above… | thoughtsofrkh
  28. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty | imagination
  29. Fiona the Fairy | Kelly’s Wandering Mind
  30. Cosmic Orange Balls | Sangatak
  31. Five Dishes, No Soul | Vanessa Elliott
  32. My First Fifty | Love.Books.Coffee.
  33. Judgment Day | until the inkwell dries
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty (Neutral Milk Hotel Edition) – Compass & Quill
  35. Stories from aside
  36. First Fifty | thinkerscap
  37. There’s a DJ in my Joints | Triumphant Wings
  38. My standard apology….in 50 words, no more, no less. | Getting DCK for Dummies
  39. Fifty | Not famous for anything
  40. The Sanctum | The Arctic Tern

 

34 thoughts on “Dare to Imagine

  1. Pingback: Snow | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  2. Pingback: Love You Later… | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Pingback: Fifty | B.Kaotic

  4. Pingback: blathering | Musings of a Random Mind

  5. Pingback: DP Challenge: Fifty | The Expressible Café

  6. Pingback: too regal to reach fifty | litadoolan

  7. Pingback: Cinquante / Fifty | Leeloo Rocks

  8. Great twist! I love the unexpected your fiction serves up so well. I enjoyed the balance between children being right and not being afraid to tell the truth of how they see themselves. I knew a guy once who when he meditated saw himself as Spiderman! He was brave to share this I thought 😀

    • This story is dedicated to my son who always imagines himself as some animal who’s brave and strong. He’s having problems in nursery because I suspect his teacher is not as imaginative and doesn’t know how to deal with him! He’ll soon be going to school and I hope he gets a good teacher there who lets him use his imagination positively.

      • I am no expert but I imagine it’s difficult when a teacher does not present a new challenge at the right time to keep children engaged. The new school sounds like there will be lots of things to explore. Imagination is such a resource (IMO)!

  9. Pingback: First Bite at the Cherry: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: The 19th of April 1845 – Albany, New York | Forgotten Correspondence

  11. Pingback: Story Of My Life | Views Splash!

  12. Pingback: The Sanctum | The Arctic Tern

  13. Pingback: Fifty for a Story | Wired With Words

  14. Pingback: Her First Word [50-WORD STORY] | Ramisa the Authoress

  15. Pingback: Fifty (1): Straight. | Vagrant Contradictions

  16. Pingback: Our Inevitable Return | Vagrant Contradictions

  17. Pingback: Joshua Tree National Park, February 2014 | Vagrant Contradictions

  18. Pingback: Stunned—Fifty Words Story | DESIRABLE PURITY

  19. Pingback: Healer | Another Red Letter Day

  20. Pingback: A Soldier’s Eternity | Vagrant Contradictions

  21. Pingback: Stories from the Skyline | Vagrant Contradictions

  22. Pingback: Clean Slate | Vagrant Contradictions

  23. Pingback: Things to Do Around Los Angeles | Vagrant Contradictions

  24. Pingback: The Liturgy of the Damned | Vagrant Contradictions

  25. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say,
    I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring
    blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • Hi there! I’m really sorry about losing your comment 😦 I don’t know what could have happened. Anyway thank you for reading my blog and commenting. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.
      Well, my advice to you (and I’m no expert either but just a few things I’ve learnt on the way) is to write regularly and to take part in as many blogging events as you can as this introduces your blog to a wider audience. This means the events put up by the Daily Post (Daily Prompt, Weekly challenges) as well as by other people. I take part in photography events, flash fiction and non-fiction as well. I will have a look at your blog too. If you would like me to send you some links to blogging events do let me know. Always feel free to drop in a comment with any questions you may have.
      All the best, Zainab

  26. Pingback: My Second Ever “Fifty”! | The Hempstead Man

  27. Pingback: The meeting. (Fifty Challenge) | chey being

  28. Pingback: Trust. A Fifty. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a comment