Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes

I’ll be using the three photos I posted for the Weekly Photo Challenge to write a post about the playground depicted in these photos.

My son goes every day in the afternoon to play in the neighborhood playground. Today when he was playing there and trying to build a volcano out of the sand, there were two girls there who were trying to break it. Now my little one has a short fuse and he started getting angry at them. Along comes the grandmother of the two girls to stop him and she also came under fire. The grandmother immediately turned to my son’s nanny who was with him and started admonishing his parents i.e. us for not teaching their son any manners.

Now I am not trying to defend him or say that he did the right thing but when other parents start being judgmental it really gets to me. The little boy did a wrong thing but does it mean that his parents are not teaching him anything and are completely useless? How can anyone make such sweeping statements when they have never even met the people they are commenting on?

What about us as adults? We make mistakes all the time. Should our ancestors take the blame for each and every mistake that we make?

I have punished my son for being rude to the lady and told him that he cannot go to the park for two days, but it really made me feel sad that people have to jump to conclusions straight away. I try my best to educate my son about what is right and wrong and I realize that he will make mistakes sometimes but that doesn’t make us bad parents. People forget when they themselves were parents and their children did something wrong.

On a brighter note my son’s teacher told me that he stood up in front of the class and told them a story and that he was very coherent and confident. I asked him about it and he told me that it was Jack and the Beanstalk which is his favorite story these days. Well at least I must be doing something right as a parent.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned, 03.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  2. The More | field of thorns
  3. Dreams Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  4. Pillow talk | Never Stationary
  5. stone | FamousFeline
  6. Smile | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  7. Threes: Haikus from Pictures! | Blue Loft
  8. Winter Storm Titan Haikus | Fish Of Gold
  9. A Tribute to my Mum – the Unbeatable Woman | Dreams Will Catch You
  10. Confession About My Boy Band Obsession | Embracing the Journey
  11. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes – Tori Sinks with the Sun | Just Be V
  12. Gone with the Waves | Artfully Aspiring
  13. It’s In The Lost & Found | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  14. Spring’s here! | Scent of Rina
  15. Haiku X 3 | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  16. Do You Have Silver Ties? | Home’s Cool!
  17. Friends far away | Nagoonberry
  18. House in three photos! | Scrapydodog
  19. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes – Long walks and dark chocolate
  20. The Road Maps of Life | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD
  21. If anybody asks, you didn’t see me. | Trucker Turning Write
  22. Coach Athlete | The Wind Beneath Their Arms
  23. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes~~Sheila’s Poem |
  24. Blue Boredom Tape Men: Battle of the Pepsi graveyard | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  25. Natasha’s Challenge | Mary J Melange
  26. abandoned, broken, and dreaming | memoirs of an unremarkable man
  27. The Simple Pleasures | Outmanned
  28. Iditarod Trail Invitational | pencil me in
  29. Innermission | The Shady Tree
  30. A Tale of Two Worlds | Victoria.K.Gallagher
  31. Seven Icicles, Part One | Stealing All the Sevens
  32. Inspiration of a pocket watch | live simple
  33. Lady By The Lake — 3 Images /1 Story | eyevpointofview
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes (Skulduggery) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

21 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes

  1. Pingback: It’s In The Lost & Found | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  2. Pingback: truffle hunting in montone | Musings of a Random Mind

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes~~Sheila’s Poem |

  4. Pingback: Blue Boredom Tape Men: Battle of the Pepsi graveyard | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  5. Pingback: Seven Icicles, Part One | Stealing All the Sevens

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes (Skulduggery) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  7. Pingback: Threes: A letter to my baby – Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: The Lake at Cwm Symlog calls to me… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: The 4th of March 2014 – The Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall, Washington, D.C. | Forgotten Correspondance

  11. This reminds of a time when this lady shouted to my mother on the street that haven’t she taught me any manners.Can’t remember what it was about but that lady wasn’t happy with what I did or said to her. Some people are too quickly to judge.Your son did stand up for himself and that shows character.In the future that’s gonna be a useful thing.I wish I would have been that brave at that age.There are a few words I wish could have said to those people that did me wrong in the past.

  12. Pingback: WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: THREES | Words We Women Write

  13. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Threes | Joe's Musings

  14. Pingback: No one saw the mirage but me | litadoolan

  15. Pingback: Threes – The Birth of Son #3 | Cancer Isn't Pink

  16. Pingback: Seven Icicles, Part Two | Stealing All the Sevens

  17. Pingback: rain [a small collection of haikus] | Ramisa the Authoress

  18. Pingback: Alleppy Trip | Wired With Words

Leave a comment