My Childhood Home

When I was not even a year old we moved to our house in Islamabad. We lived there for 13 years and this was the longest time I have lived in one place. This house has special meaning for me as I spent my childhood years there.

My earliest memories of this house are probably when I started school. We had a white Fiat and my father would drive me and my elder brother and sister to school.

Compared to the cramped, falling over each other houses that we can afford these days, that house was huge. It had a long driveway leading to a garage where our dog had puppies, a small back garden and a front garden. I remember the guava trees in both the gardens that I loved because I could climb them easily. I spent many afternoon hours outside and I learnt to skate and cycle grazing my elbows and knees in the driveway.

The house consisted of two floors. There was a sitting room downstairs which was reserved for the guests and a lounge overlooking the back garden. Adjacent to these were the kitchen and dining room and they were connected by a swinging door with a window in it. I would help my mother in the kitchen when she made something special. A guest room completed the plan downstairs and we frequently had house guests staying there. Of course my favorite visitor was my grandmother and I remember I used to sometimes sleep with her in the guest room.

Upstairs was another lounge where we would sit at the table and do our homework. There were 3 bedrooms connected to this lounge which were occupied by my parents and us 3 kids. There was also a big terrace where our washed clothes would hang.

Connecting the two floors was a winding staircase. We would hardly ever bother coming down the steps, we would just slide down the railing all the way down. Even now remembering that makes me smile.

Whenever I have a dream where there is a house involved, it is always this house of my childhood years. I will always remember it with fond memories.

Daily Prompt: Our House

  1. New iPod | Crazy Markovich
  2. of raging wants | Anawnimiss
  3. Daily Prompt: Our House- The impact of family to our psychological mind | Journeyman
  4. Streaks in the Darkness | Exploratorius
  5. Home: Tankas | 365 days of defiance
  6. To London For Love & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  7. Daily Prompt: Our House | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Cumbraes, 1962 | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  9. Launching Pad | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  10. Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet
  11. evergreen | yi-ching lin photography
  12. My family are huggers, and it’s always been an awesome part of life. | thoughtsofrkh
  13. Daily Prompt: House | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  14. Daily Prompt: Our House | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  15. Short Plat – A Short Story | Kilbo – Chris Kilbourn
  16. The House in Middelburg. | Hope* the happy hugger
  17. BE IT EVER SO HUMBLE | SERENDIPITY
  18. Home, Sweet Home | Home’s Cool!
  19. Daily Prompt: Our House « Mama Bear Musings
  20. The Gray House | A Sign Of Life
  21. Childhood Memories of Home | Unload and Unwind
  22. Home | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  23. 272. My Childhood Home | Barely Right of Center
  24. Children Must Be Seen And Not Heard | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
24 thoughts on “My Childhood Home

  1. Pingback: Children Must Be Seen And Not Heard | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  2. Pingback: The rising of the Sap Nymph: an erotic poem | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: A Trip Down Memory Lane | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: breakfast music | peacefulblessedstar

  6. Pingback: Our House: Slugs and Stairs | Fun with Depression

  7. Pingback: I freaking love this house | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Cancer Isn't Pink

  9. Pingback: Our House | viver para contar

  10. Pingback: The Camino Plan | There’s No Place That’s Home

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

  12. Pingback: Stand in the Place Where You Live | 365 Days of Thank You

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | SIM | ANTICS

  14. Pingback: Empty space? | Words 'n Pics...

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  16. Pingback: The Home on Leland Ave. | Love.Books.Coffee.

Leave a Reply

