My doll house

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

Me with my doll house

Me with my doll house

My father traveled many times to Europe for work in our childhood and always brought us wonderful toys that were both educational and fun to play with. Many of these toys were passed down to me from my elder siblings but I remember one toy that was only mine.

The dollhouse arrived in a large carton and I helped my father assemble it. What was most interesting about it was that it had a lift that could stop at any of the three floors. It came with its own furniture but over the years I got other things to put in it. One of these was a tiny golden tea set. Each cup was no bigger than a finger nail. I never lost one piece of it and gave it to someone else just some years ago who collects doll’s furniture. My doll house traveled around with us as we moved houses. I outgrew it but still kept it.

I used to stitch little clothes for the dolls that lived in their house using my mother’s manual sewing machine. I could work the machine when I was 7 or 8. I remember spending my afternoons stitching. Not that I was a girly girl. I also loved following my elder brother around and cycling and skating with him.

Fast forward some 30 years and I love decorating the house and making things with my hands especially with fabric. I never thought about this before but there does seem to be a strong connection between my life now and my favorite toy.

Daily Prompt: Toy Story

  1. A Toy | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. I HAVE A DREAM, A DIGITAL DREAM! (Not to sould like MLK Jr. up in here, but we need one.) | Lord Aoshi’s Latest Finds
  3. Toy Story | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. (Lost) Toy Story | The Ambitious Drifter
  5. My first boyfriend. | Crossroads
  6. Chip Hazard | Sogna Grandezza
  7. A Horse is a Horse, of course, of course | Conversations
  8. Toy Story- Barbie | mcpw
  9. Daily Prompt: Toy Story – My littlegirltoy | littlegirlstory
  10. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. Memento | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  12. Dhingali Maari Hala | મન ની વાત
  13. Green words | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  14. Cops and Robbers | MC’s Whispers
  15. Adorned With Skinned Knees | sayanything
  16. Dad, Me, And A Toy Jeep | The Jittery Goat
  17. Daily Prompt Repost: Toy Story; Simba’s Praise Song | Virginia the Viruliferous
  18. A Toy | Puggle | Ellen Gregory
  19. Daily Prompt: Toy Story « Mama Bear Musings
  20. Toys!! | mostlytrueramblings
  21. Playthings | Tony’s Texts
  22. Days gone by | Life & Times
  23. Life Is My Chew Toy | Eve Livingston, Ph.D.
  24. Prompt: Mobile Phone And Flipping Pages | Wise Counsel
  25. more like wannabebarbie | wannabepoet
  26. Should have been a cowboy. « RPMAS
  27. The Curious Case of Curious George | meanderedwanderings
  28. Moving with a grr and whoosh | crookedeyebrows
  29. Daily Prompt: Memento | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  30. Daily Prompt; Toy Story | terry1954
  31. Toys In the Attic | A Good One
  32. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. Toy Story | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  34. The Little Green Bag | An Upturned Soul
  35. Purple Bear… | Haiku By Ku
  36. TOYS ARE FOR BOYS | Dear Yolandi
  37. kevindeisher
  38. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Not The Sword But The Pen
  39. I named her “Anne” | Hope* the happy hugger
  40. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | reyoflight
  41. Memento | Flowers and Breezes
  42. “Memento” | Relax
  43. SOVIET UNION: COMMIE TOYS FOR COMMIE KIDS | Standing Ovation, Seated
  44. Daily Prompt: Best Friend | One Starving Activist
  45. Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob’s Surf Report
  46. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Vagabond
  47. Stalking cuddly pandas | We Live In A Flat
  48. Where is Wally Wobbles? | Pink Bubbly
  49. It’s Doggie Playtime | Anchors Aweigh
  50. Hush, Hush Close Your Eyes…. | Daily Observations
  51. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Photos and writings
  52. Toy Story: As told by the girl who destroyed all her toys… | Testing the Strength I Have
  53. Is that weird? | EditMoi
  54. Toy Story | The Nameless One
  55. Rocking Chair! | amateurxpress
  56. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Morrighan’s Muse
  57. A Floppy-Necked Giraffe | On Gorgeousness
  58. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | I Hope You’re Taking Notes

 

13 thoughts on “My doll house

  1. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  3. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. A kind continuation that has changed from doll house to areal house ……….. something you are proud of………. this is life. Thank you for sharing your story.

    • Thank you for your comment. Very well said. I was lucky to have so many nice toys and was always careful not to spoil them. As an adult I do the same with my things.

      • No they don’t 😦 It’s a shame. I have one teddy that my cousin adores. I let her play with it when she comes round but I just can’t bring myself to give it to her because her’s are all so scruffy.

  6. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

  7. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story 12|9 | familyphotosfoodcraft.com

  9. Pingback: A Doll Named Marylee | emilykarn

Leave a comment