Thank you

I wanted to have a baby soon after I got married. But I had two miscarriages and the doctors told me I had just been unlucky and there wasn’t much they could do to help me conceive again. Six years after my marriage, without any treatment, I was blessed with a healthy baby boy.

I can’t thank God enough for giving me the joys of motherhood. His first crooked little smile, the first time he called me Mama, his first tooth, his first tottering steps towards me, his first day of Nursery when he didn’t want to come home, his nursery report which included words like extraordinary, his tight hugs and wet kisses.

Of course it’s not all clean sailing; he can be quite a terror tot when he wants to, but in the end when he thanks me for wiping his tears, all is forgiven.

And when I’m scolding him for something he puts his hands on his hips and says “I’m so disappointed AT you”. I try to hold back my laughter and remember why I was scolding him in the first place!

Just recently we were going to the mall and he was unusually quiet in the car. I asked him why and he replied “Stay quiet, otherwise Abbu (Dad) can’t drive!” I don’t know whether he was being funny or considerate but this only lasted about 5 minutes and he was back doing his usual running commentary.

Some time back I was sick and had to be hospitalized for 5 days. I didn’t see him during that time and I don’t think I have ever missed anyone so much. I felt incomplete.

Thank you God for giving me Nadir.

This post has been written in response to the Daily Prompt: Thank You

  1. Leftover Ramen | Daily Prompt: Thank You | likereadingontrains
  2. To Jinnah, with respect. | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  3. Thanking You | The Magic Black Book
  4. Thanks For The Flowers | The Ambitious Drifter
  5. Daily Prompt: Thanks (a 9/11 Tribute to our first responders) | Gotham Chick
  6. Daily Prompt: Thank You | Under the Monkey Tree
  7. Thank You, Mom | Sogna Grandezza
  8. Thank You | Tony’s Texts
  9. Thank you for the music. | Everyday Adventures
  10. Many Thanks | Motherhood and Beyond
  11. Daily Prompt: Thank You | Being a Huntress
  12. Recovery and Reflections: Relief | mentalrollercoaster
  13. Daily Prompt: Thank You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  14. Thank You Dear Chocolate | મન ની વાત
  15. Open my eyes, Break my Heart, continued | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  16. An attitude of gratitude. | Hope* the happy hugger
  17. thankful for me | wannabepoet
  18. You, thanks! | boo!
  19. Thank You | Geek Ergo Sum
  20. Daily Post – Thank You | awritersfountain
  21. Thank you, Daily Post, for a reminder to be thankful! | Reinvention of Mama
  22. Daily Prompt: Thank You « Mama Bear Musings
  23. INTERNET | ayimas
  24. Walking through my front door | mostlytrueramblings
  25. I Don’t Wanna… | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  26. September 11, 2013 | joymamalife
  27. Daily Prompt: Thank You | My Atheist Blog
  28. A day to give thanks | Life & Times
  29. Thank’s God for love | Life is great
  30. I Dropped the Elephant! | Pink Bubbly
  31. Thank you, neighbors « RPMAS
  32. Thank you Internet ! | Spunky Wayfarer
  33. Thank’s God | From Five to Fifty
  34. Thank You Almighty Allah! | amateurxpress
  35. Thank you 🙂 | Heartfelt
  36. Gracias. | Rinse
  37. I am a Terrible Blogger | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  38. Good Things | The Jittery Goat
  39. Thank You | The Nameless One
  40. Thank you God | Flowers and Breezes
  41. A day wouldn’t be enough – Daily Prompt: Thank you | maddiebells
  42. About These Ads… They’re Not Mine! | An Upturned Soul
  43. Thank You: You’re Everything | Extraordinary Living Blogs
6 thoughts on “Thank you

  1. Pingback: Thank you, Thank you… Did I say thank you yet? | Okay, what if ?

  2. Pingback: I say today is about peace. | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Muito Obrigada! | 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Thanks God | Life is great

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Thank You | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

