Morning cuddles

The first person I encounter almost every morning is my son Nadir who has sneaked into my bed in the middle of the night and sandwiched himself between me and my husband.

I was hoping that he would grow out of this habit by his 6th birthday but that milestone was crossed 2 days ago and there he is still.

What I fail to understand is how his internal clock wakes him up on the weekends at 6am but fails to do that on school days. So today (we have a Friday/Saturday weekend) I woke up to a grinning Nadir next to me whose wriggling ensured that I would have no more to do with sleep.

Often when I am telling him how to do something he says “You think I don’t know anything!” But when I point out that he should sleep in his bed the whole night he says he is not old enough to do it. I guess you can never argue with a child’s logic.

My friends tell me I should enjoy the closeness because once children get older they feel embarrassed even to be cuddled and that when he grows out of it I will miss him sneaking into my bed.

Till then I will be hanging on the edge of the bed trying desperately to sleep a few more minutes.
image

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-luckiest-people/

5 thoughts on “Morning cuddles

  1. HaHaHaHa…. “What I fail to understand is how his internal clock wakes him up on the weekends at 6am but fails to do that on school days. ” I am a teacher… and I love the inconsistencies one finds in children and adolescents!

Leave a Reply

