Just a Cuddle

image

This is what happens when my son comes to my bed at night. He’s been sleeping in his own room for a year now but in the middle of the night he gets up, wears his slippers and quietly sneaks into my bed.

He says he gets lonely at night. Poor little guy is alone in his room except for his pet turtles. I leave his door and my bedroom door open and since my room is just across his, he probably finds it hard to resist transferring to my room. In the morning I find his slippers neatly placed by my bed.

It’s not that he gets nightmares or bad dreams. He’s never cried after getting up or told me that he’s scared.

Sometimes if I’m in the other room he’ll come there to find me or if he can’t find me there even, he’ll give me a shout knowing I’m somewhere in the house. Once he’s brought me to my bedroom he’ll just plop into the bed and fall asleep.

It’s been a year now since he’s been doing this. He probably just needs a cuddle and will eventually grow out of it. Of course I enjoy the cuddles as much as he does, it’s just when I’m dangling off the side of the bed or when I want to sleep longer in the morning, that I wish he would keep sleeping in his bed.

I asked my friends for advice and one of them who has 6 kids told me it’s normal for him to do that and that I should just relax. I guess she would know. Another friend told me that her 3 boys ranging from 3 years to 9 years do the same. I guess I shouldn’t even begin to complain. In a few years he’ll probably tell me that he’s too old to be cuddled and I’ll be remembering this time when he wakes up in the morning and says “Cuddle me, Mama!”

One thought on “Just a Cuddle

Leave a Reply

