The (Un)necessary

This is my first post from my new home in Bahrain. We moved on the weekend so that my son could start school on Sunday. (Over here we have a  Friday/Saturday weekend). My son’s school is less than 5 minutes away by car which is really convenient for me especially because I am still finding my way around.

Our main shipment has not arrived yet and all we have is our beds, pots and pans and a plastic set of table and chairs. We can actually function with just these things and that gets me to think why do we have to pile up so many unnecessary things. We don’t even have a TV and nobody is missing it. My son has not asked even once about it. (He does keep asking when the new car will arrive though!)

IMG-20140828-WA0002

Of course we couldn’t function without the Internet so while the DSL broadband company was taking long to provide home services, we installed a Wifi Dongle with my laptop. So I’m online now and working on the same plastic table and chair that I ate dinner on.

When I went to my son’s school today with him for his orientation I had to complete some forms and they asked me for an emergency contact number if the parents could not be contacted. I couldn’t give them any because for the first time we have no close family here and it’s too early to make friends. I hope that we do make friends soon to make up for the absence of family. I am looking forward to it.

9 thoughts on “The (Un)necessary

Leave a Reply

