Let Time Stand Still

You wake up one day and realize you’re ten years older than you were the previous night. Beyond the initial shock, how does this development change your life plans?

As it is, time passes so quickly when you have children that you don’t want to forget to enjoy every moment. If 10 years passed, it would just be too much for me, not because I was 10 years older but because I would have missed so much from my son’s life. I made a decision to stay at home for him so I would not miss anything. Four years on, I am still a stay-at-home-mom. I started writing some things that he had said or done so I would not forget them and I ended up authoring 2 children’s books.

I wrote this poem on my son’s 4th birthday…

Time passes so quickly,

It leaves me a bit giddy,

I just cannot believe it,

My baby’s four already.

I feel a sense of panic,

Should he know more?

Phonics and pencil grip.

My baby’s turned four.

Should he be a bit taller?

And learn how to strive

Before I even know it,

He will soon be five.

What more can I do?

To make sure he knows

Everything he needs.

As he grows and grows.

For soon my little baby

Will be a young man

Taking on the world

With his very own plan.

And then I’ll watch him

Meet success all the way,

But for now I should just

Enjoy his every day.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-wrinkles/

12 thoughts on “Let Time Stand Still

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: New Wrinkles | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. It is a cliche when older moms say, “oh, you should enjoy every day”, but as an older woman with five grown sons, i know it is a cliche because it is so true. I loved that time with my lads. And enjoy them now as well . Lovely post

  3. Pingback: Wrinkles | It's Mayur Remember?

  4. Pingback: Fast Forward! | Ripples N Reflections

Leave a Reply

