As Old As You Feel

“Age is just a number,” says the well-worn adage. But is it a number you care about, or one you tend (or try) to ignore?

My mother had her first child after 16 years of marriage. But she still looked so young that anyone who saw her could not tell that. Somebody came to congratulate her in the hospital when her baby was born and my grandmother who also looked very young was in the room at the time. She thought that she was the lady who had had the child after so many years!

My sister and I have both inherited the same thing from my mother and grandmother. When I tell someone that I’ve been married for nearly 11 years their eyes almost pop out since they were assuming that I’m a newly wed. I must say it’s extremely flattering to see the surprise on people’s faces when I tell them my age.

I turned 38 yesterday and the number doesn’t really bother me. I still feel the same as I was last year or the year before that. I strongly believe that you are as old as you feel.

However, my doctor keeps telling me that I should have my second child as soon as possible because time is running out. Medically, for women, age can be an issue.

My sister, my mother and me last year. My mother is nearly 80 here.

My sister, my mother and me last year. My mother is nearly 80 here.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/age-old-questions/

10 thoughts on “As Old As You Feel

  1. Pingback: It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Age is | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

