What’s Going On?

What on earth is going on?

My lounge sofa has been converted into a “house” which looks more like a pile of cushions with another pile of soft toys inside the “house”. In the little space left, sits a 4 year old smiling gleefully. He enters and exits his house by jumping over the arm of the sofa. God knows how long the sofa will survive. The rest of the lounge doesn’t look any better. It has systematically been taken over by him and his army of toys. His train set and robot peek out from under the centre table and his story books are amassed over the side table.

What on earth is going on?

I leave my son with his father for half an hour and when I return they’re both playing football in my sitting room. This sitting room is very sacred for me since it’s the only place which has not been taken over by my son. At least not yet. The two of them are skilfully dodging my decoration pieces lying vulnerably atop glass tables. I thank my husband for avoiding any disasters while I was away and coax my son into sitting down and drawing instead.

What on earth is going on?

It’s time to sleep and my son is jumping up and down on his bed without showing the slightest signs of being tired. I, on the other hand am on the verge of falling asleep. I would too, if my son would just stop singing so loudly. Where does he get his energy? He doesn’t eat much but he seems to have a non-stop engine. Finally after a few threats to not read his story books to him, he settles down.

What on earth is going on? I can’t get to sleep. Why is the house so quiet?

20131206_0858461.jpg

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/from-the-top/

8 thoughts on “What’s Going On?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: From the Top | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Life Begins When You Do | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

    • Thank you. I have got my son various tents/houses but he is only interested in making a house with my lounge sofa. We are soon moving to another country and I have vowed to buy sofas where the cushions can’t be removed.

Leave a Reply

