Working Part-time

I finally found a way to make some pocket money without having to step out of the house. Ever since my son has started going to school and I have got the mornings to myself, I have felt this urge to want to make some money. I worked for 10 years prior to my baby and made quite a bit of it and then suddenly to not make any at all makes me feel that I am not being completely productive. Of course looking after your child is a big responsibility and the pleasure I get when I see my son thrive is unmatchable. Still, at the end of the day, I feel like I could have done more.

I tried my hand at trading but this was too risky and although I made some money at the start, I soon lost more. It was hard to get out as they were not willing to let me withdraw my investment but in the end it was sorted out.

Most of the work-at-home opportunities ask for a fee to register in their program or for a tutorial that will tell you how to become rich. I have always steered clear of these.

I have now found some freelance writing work which is risk free if you use the given system correctly. I get paid promptly and the best part is that I can work from home and still do all my household duties and keep an eye on my son. You can get started without having to pay anything. The work is project based and once you complete one project you have the flexibility to take a break or bid for another project. You can get work according to your skills and if you’re lucky you can even find a long term employer who rehires you after one project is completed. If you can manage, you can do several projects at the same time, so you choose the amount of work you want to do. The money is not that much and could not replace a full time job but if you don’t have any job, any little amount counts.

I am very happy that I’m being productive. With our impending move to another country, my employer has scaled down the amount of work he assigns to me and this is really working out for me. I hope to get back to the usual routine once I have settled down.

15 thoughts on “Working Part-time

    • Thank you Lita, yes it’s working well so far for me. I was lucky to find a good employer who I have been writing for, for the last month and a half.

  1. I have been trying to get into freelance writing for a while now but just haven’t got down to it. Your post gives me encouragement! Any pointers:)??

    • Sure, would love to help you out. Just send me your email and I will give you all the details. (Will delete your comment with your email so that it’s not visible to others.)

  2. Hi Zainab, I’m really interested in freelancing, too, if you’re interested to share, I’d love an email from you, too, at kathleenabdel@yahoo.com thanks very much, and now I learned in this post that you are moving away from dubai – God bless your move and make it easier for your whole family! ♥;^)

  3. Zainab – I’m so pleased that you’ve found yet another way to keep yourself productive – as if you don’t have enough going? But the important thing is flexibility and what with all the upcoming changes in your life, I’m glad that you’re able to manage it all. I hope your move and all the transitions will flow smoothly for you and your family. 🙂

    • Hi Pat, It’s always such a pleasure to hear from you. 🙂
      Thank you so much for the best wishes. I do have a lot in my plate right now and I have not found time to write every day on my blog, but I guess one has to prioritize to manage things.

      • It’s always a pleasure to stop by your blog and see and hear what you’ve been up to. And yes, as things change and time constraints allow or not, we have to prioritize. I was just saying to a fellow blogger – words passed on to me from another very wizened blogger — it’s about quality – not quantity. And your posts, however often or less so, are such a delight to read. I always feel lifted and as if I’m sharing in a wonderful exotic adventure. And so, once again, I wish you all the best on your new adventures Zainab 🙂

Leave a Reply

