Friday Fictioneers: The Secret Actor

studio-lights-from-kentSince his childhood, Samir would play out stories he had read and immerse himself in the characters he found intriguing.

As he grew up, his parents drummed into him that he had to become a doctor. “Our society doesn’t accept actors and singers. We don’t want our only son to be an ‘adakar’”, they told him.

Samir went to medical school, but secretly attended acting classes at night. When he graduated, he presented his parents with his degree and invitations to a play he was acting in.

“I’ve become a doctor as you wished, now I’m going to work as an actor” he told his shocked parents.

*adakar is actor in Urdu

This 100 word story has been written for Friday Fictioneers. For details see the link below:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/4-april-2014/

 

38 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: The Secret Actor

  1. Dear Zainab,

    Your story sent me to memories of my cousin Andy who became a doctor to please his father. Although he was a compassionate physician he was never truly happy. So good for Samir pursuing his own dreams and not his parents’. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Puts a whole new meaning into “following one’s dreams”. Acting while becoming a doctor is no easy feat to juggle. Kudos to Samir for making it through!

    • I suspect he will struggle but he’s a hardworking young fellow and he’ll probably be working two or more jobs to make it on his own. I doubt his parents will support him.

    • Thank you so much. Yes unfortunately parents think they’re doing a good job steering their children towards something when really they just need someone to cheer them on.

    • It’s a shame that he had to carry the burden for so long but at least now he’s told his parents what he really wants to do.
      Thanks for reading!

  3. Good story and very realistic. A cousin of my husband was a good artist but his mother was a doctor and insisted he become a doctor. I doubt his heart was ever in it. He’s a kind person but people didn’t think of him as a good doctor. His wife was also a doctor and comparisons were drawn. My daughter is a successful actor and would have been miserable is we had forced her to do something else. My uncle was a good artist but took a job in a factory because it payed more. He hated going to work his whole life. My mother always thought that was so sad. My father was a fireman and loved his work. I’ve known people who went back to college and took a second degree in an area they wanted to switch over to. I worked in an office. My parents were supportive, so I went back to school and became a teacher. I loved teaching.

    • I wish it were possible for everyone just to do what they want. Many girls in my society become doctors and engineers and after they get married they are not allowed to work and are expected only to raise their children. Acting and singing is not thought ‘respectable’ enough especially for a girl. I wanted to do architecture but the only college was in another city and my father didn’t allow me to go. I ended up doing Masters in Electronics but because of my degree I got a good job which I loved doing. I quit when my son was little but now I have found something to keep me busy which I’m enjoying. Its some freelance writing work. Sometimes you just need to make the best of your situation and be happy with it.

  4. You will know the superstition that prevents anyone from wishing a fellow actor ‘luck’ before his performance? (This expression being considered bad luck). And that the well-wisher hopes instead that the actor ‘breaks a leg’? Well, Samir’s medical skills will come in very handy when an actor truly DOES ‘break a leg’! Good for Samir for standing up for himself. Ann

  5. I apologize for the fact that I ran on about career choices in India. I realize that many young people don’t have a real choice since pressure is brought to bear. It’s just that I get very upset if someone, like a neighbor one time, makes the thoughtless comment she wondered why my children didn’t become professors like my husband. She might as well have said she thought they weren’t successes because of the professions they chose.My husband hated the short time he taught. He finally got into textile R&D.

  6. You seem like a very loving and caring mother and you have a beautiful child. I’m sure you’ll do whatever you can to help him through life. Just knowing that you care a great deal will help him. You have already given him a great gift by spending time with him in the early years. I was fortunate to be able to do that also and my children and I will always be grateful. I glad you’ve found an outlet for your creativity. We all need that.

Leave a Reply

