Giggles and some learning

When I was in my O’Levels, the private school I was studying in didn’t give us any choice in the subjects we could take. So we all had the same main subjects i.e. Science subjects, Maths and two languages. My strongest subjects were Maths and English and my weakest were Physics and Urdu.

Our Physics teacher thought he was another Don Johnson, only more of a stud because he had a moustache too. All of us girls used to laugh at his white shoes and how he would put one hand in his pocket while trying to teach us the laws of motion. None of us paid any attention because we were too busy laughing and couldn’t make any sense of what he was saying. He used to mumble (I think his big moustaches used to get in the way of his talking coherently) and I’m sure even HE couldn’t make any sense of it himself. He would solve questions on the board which I think we were supposed to memorize not understand.

Then there was our Urdu teacher. He was an elderly gentleman with a white beard and he would tell us “NO LOAFING” (instead of “No laughing”) which would just make us giggle louder. (We were a real bunch of giggling girls). He used to give us notes and notes about the different styles of writing of poets and authors. This we actually memorized.

When I appeared in my exams I thought I had done Physics much better than expected. As for my Urdu exam I was sure I had flunked. All the other subjects I did as well as I could have.

When the results came I had got a B in Physics, an A in Urdu (the examiner must have been drunk) and As in all the rest of the main subjects.

My Principal told me that she would have liked to see all As in my result. As for me, I was just thrilled.

Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion

  1. A LOVE LETTER TO MY ASS | She Writes
  2. Hypocrite | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Write | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion- Life as an Introvert: Hard Things in Socializing | Journeyman
  5. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion…And Also Irony | benjaminsolak
  6. The Match (Part 2) Saying Goodbye | The Jittery Goat
  7. Blossoming to Science | One Educator’s Life
  8. Daily Prompt: Land of confusion | Love your dog
  9. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  10. MUST READ: Hailing from Math Hater To Math Lover | The Philosophy TImes
  11. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. I Just don’t get it. | Hope* the happy hugger
  13. The Philosophy TImes
  14. Valedictorian’s shouldn’t stutter | In the Present
  15. Daily prompt: !%!%*&! Math! | The Wandering Poet
  16. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion, 02.04.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  17. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Blog of the imaginator
  18. Imagined Irrationality of Numbers | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  19. DP Confusion: Giorgia | aliabbasali
  20. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  21. The History I don’t Know | Tonkadella’s Things in Life
  22. The Trials of the Socially Awkward | Geek With a Pen
  23. 1 + 1 = Math is stupid | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  24. Wonderland « Averil Dean
  25. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | CaughtuProductions
  26. How My Struggle With Math Killed My College Career – WANGSGARD
  27. Land of Confusion | The Story of a Guy
  28. Land of Confusion: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  29. DP Daily Prompt: Land Of Confusion | Sabethville
  30. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Here I am !!
  31. So I Write for Better or Worse | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  32. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | I Loathe Nothing | Shawn Daily
  33. A Student’s Confession (A Poem) | meanderedwanderings
  34. Daily Prompt: Math:My Land of Confusion | A Day In The Life
  35. English It is! | Navigate
  36. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  37. Is This Magic or Something? | wisskko’s blog
  38. There Are No Words | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  39. And Now a Word from Our Sponsor: Physics | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  40. Ten Things You Can’t Buy With SNAP (Food Stamps)
  41. A Nightmare | Flowers and Breezes
  42. Reading and writing | Life is great
  43. Land of Confusion | Relax
  44. Subjects in Distress | Views Splash!
  45. DP: Eff THis! | Scorched Ice
  46. M for Monster 😛 | Dreams to Reality !
  47. In the Land of Confusion, Literature is Evil! | Lesie’s World
  48. Me + Arithmatic = Fail | djgarcia94
  49. Teach your kids to procrastinate | Parents Are People Too
  50. Jim bought 60 watermelons | mnemosynesandlethe
  51. If you learn one thing, learn to dream – | The Flavored Word
  52. Lacking Direction | Overcoming to Becoming
  53. Math Tests Are Stupid, And Covered With Cheese | Short Story Sally
  54. Ninjas In Stitches
  55. Daily Prompt: Being Confused! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  56. Then And Now | Ninjas In Stitches
  57. I’m a Big Nerd | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  58. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Diary of Dennis
  59. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | SIM | ANTICS
  60. Land of Confusion | Life Confusions
  61. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | The Living Mirage
17 thoughts on “Giggles and some learning

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: !%!%*&! Math! | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: What I Didn’t Learn | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Subjects in Distress | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | My Atheist Blog

  6. I remember handing in an assignment I thought was amazing and when I got it back I was so devastated by the mark. I just didn’t understand what had happened until I read the comments and I realised the marker hadn’t understood half of what I was saying – there was even a remark which said ‘you insult the reader when you discuss things that they do not understand’. My friends made me take it to the department head for re-marking which greatly improved the result. I am still so confused how the marker – supposedly one of the tutors at uni didn’t know some of the literary references – it was a Humanities degree after all.

  7. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Who Are You Calling A Loon? Let Danny Dyer Teach You A Lesson (Parody)” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  8. Pingback: Accents in schools and tools of survival against aliens | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

