Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names

I was named Zainab by my father and although it very appropriately means “a father’s precious jewel” or “the one who glorifies a father” in Arabic, I was given this name more for it’s historical significance and it’s popularity among Muslims. The daughter of the Holy Prophet Mohammad (Peace be upon him) was named Zainab as well as one of his granddaughters. Another meaning of Zainab is “blossoming flower” or “fragrant flower”.

My father went a step further and also kept a nickname for me and for each of his three children. To this day, many of our relatives know us by our nicknames and not our real names. It’s a shame really because I love my name. I couldn’t think of any other name that would suit me better.

When I got married I didn’t change my surname to reflect my husband’s name because we thought it was too much hassle to change bank accounts and other records. My husband didn’t have any hangups that his wife should adopt his name so I just kept my maiden name. This is something a bit strange in my country where married women are addressed as Mrs. XYZ and not Ms.  Many times I get called Mrs Javid which is my mother’s name (she did change her maiden name to my father’s surname) because they think my husband must be called Javid and they can’t understand why I didn’t change my name. For some women it’s a matter of honor to be associated with their husband’s name. For me it just shows that I am an independent woman with my own identity and don’t need to change the name I was born with.

I think names are very important and should be kept with the meaning in mind. When I named my son “Nadir” which means exceptional in my native Urdu, I had these considerations in mind; that it should have a good meaning, it should be something resembling his father’s name Naseer and it should go well with his surname of Ali. Although I had vowed not to give him a nickname I have ended up calling him Nadoo. When some of his friends from the park where he plays came for his birthday party, they asked me why I had written Nadir on his cake and not Nadoo. When I have to scold him I always address him as Nadir.

Last year I got my son an aquarium with different kinds of fish. They were about 10 of them and mostly in pairs. My son named them after all his relatives. Then one by one they started dying. It was more devastating for me than for my son. Somehow he had not got attached to them maybe because you don’t get to hold fish or feed them directly in their mouth. Anyway I replaced the fish with fewer bigger fish of the same kind and we decided never to name them after someone. They are still doing well today.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names

  1. Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names | Our Baby Dreams
  2. Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  3. What’s in a name | Love your dog
  4. Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. More Than A Name | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  6. Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names | ManicMedic
  7. Melissa|The Meaning | melissuhhsmiles
  8. Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | B.Kaotic
  9. Faithfully Named | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  10. The Power of a Name | Short & Sharp
  11. A Rose by Any Other Name… | Artfully Aspiring
  12. my name is larry | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  13. Name Responsibily (Weekly Writing Challenge) | …Of Course, this Could All Go Horribly Awry
  14. Porkchops | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  15. What Is In A Name | Unload and Unwind
  16. What’s in a Name? | For Love of a Good Yarn
  17. Name. Name. Name. | …Properly Ridiculous…
  18. What’s in a Name? | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  19. The Power of Names | Jennifer Paige
  20. kurtosis | staying.cool
  21. From Russia: with Hope. | Abstractions of Life
  22. THE HASTY TRADITION | Hastywords
  23. Rice Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  24. Just Call Me | ripplesblog
  25. Daily Prompt: What’s in a Name | The Cheese Whines
  26. Roles and Identities | Kingdom of Sharks
  27. Word Press Weekly Writing Challenge: the Power of Names | Phylor’s Blog
  28. The Power of a Name | Welcome, somthing drink?
  29. What’s in a Name? | Sam’s Online Journal
  30. What’s In A Name? | The Eclectic Poet
  31. The moniker of Monica | Minnesota Transplant
  32. NOT IN OUR NAME | Unload and Unwind
  33. Contrary, Bitter, Rebellious and Loved | Mary J Melange
  34. Purely Me | Scraps of Paper
  35. Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names | Simply about Life
  36. A Few of My Favorite Things…. | Coffee Crumbs
  37. Names | Speaking Voiceless
  38. Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | lifebeinggirly
  39. Writing Prompt: The Power of Names | tamiesrealm
  40. On Names… | Tas’und’eash
  41. How Osama Bin Laden And My Parents Got Together And Complicated My Life | Babbleogue
  42. The Lame Name Shame Blame Game! | Once Upon Your Prime. . .
  43. “Found in Translation” | Cosmic Heroism
  44. STICKS AND STONES | SERENDIPITY
  45. The Daily Post Challenge – Power of Names | Wine goes best with a good book
  46. c.c.
  47. A rose by any other name… | A Bite for Sore Eyes
  48. The Wedding Paper: My name, your name, our name | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  49. The Making of a Name | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  50. Daily Post Challenge – Power of Names | Smile at the Sky
  51. We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words
  52. Weekly writing challenge : Power of names | La chica de la burbuja
14 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names

  1. Pingback: [Weekly Writing Challenge] The power of its name… | 3rdculturechildren

  2. I keep my surname for a lot of years but it was a hassle with the military always wanting to use my husbands surname. My military ID was his and all other document my surname.I finally put hyphened the two together which work alright..

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | Writing Canvas

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power Of Names | imagination

  5. Pingback: We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words

  6. Pingback: The 7th of June 1983 – Laurel, Delaware | Forgotten Correspondence

  7. Pingback: THE HASTY TRADITION | Hastywords

  8. Pingback: Withered Past | Stealing All the Sevens

  9. Pingback: Stuck on Conchiglie | litadoolan

  10. Pingback: DP Weekly Challenge : A 99 word story, “All’s in a Name” | Challenged for Words

  11. Pingback: ALIENORA: WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE! NAMES… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

Leave a Reply

