Cricket matches and roosters

Back in my homeland we have a small house in a locality where the houses are falling over each other. The houses are so close together that we can hear loud arguments or children crying in the house next door. Standing on the terrace we can look into all the surrounding houses. Any information that you do not manage to obtain in this way about your neighbors can be gotten by the cleaning ladies who frequent all the houses of the neighborhood.

Our next door neighbors have a lot of people living in the house with children of all sizes. We know this because every time a child is born they distribute mithai (traditional sweets) in the neighborhood.

One of the children is called Abdullah (we hear his mother calling him) and he is too naughty to go to school. They have tried putting him in school but after a few days the school sends him back. So Abdullah spends his time on the street waiting for the other children to return from school. Once the other children are back, it’s time for the cricket matches to start. Since the houses do not have backyards the matches are played on the street. The batsman hits the ball and it lands neatly on our terrace. Now the children are very considerate and do not bother to ring the bell and ask for the ball. The little monkeys simply go into their own house, climb the wall over onto our terrace and retrieve the ball. Another consequence of the cricket matches is that almost every week our gate lights are broken and have to be changed.

On top of all the children, the neighbors also kept a chicken and a rooster in their house. The rooster liked to climb into our house and peck on our plants. Fortunately one of the local cats solved this problem and the rooster is no more.

20140218_180320When we moved to Dubai we came into a locality with 3 to 5 bedroom villas with 2 car porches, a maid’s room and a big backyard. I wanted to make friends with the neighbors so I sent them some chocolates with my husband’s visiting card hoping that they would come over to say thank you. That never happened. I continued to make efforts but to no avail. Finally I gave up. Years later I have realized that only people of same nationalities socialize here. It’s really a shame.

And thinking about it, I kind of miss the cricket matches back home.

Daily Prompt: West End Girls

  1. Well Said & Done! | Rima Hassan
  2. Recycle | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. An ad campaign 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Bogota Dame | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Daily Prompt: West End Girls-Why people get rich | Journeyman
  6. Society | Mara Eastern
  7. Big City Girl | Rose-tinted Rambles
  8. Begrenztes Denken auf dem Spielplatz | Zeitarbeiterin
  9. Roger, The Bush Pilot And The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  10. DP Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Sabethville
  11. Living In Ogden – It’s All About Community
  12. a stunning society… | ensuing light…
  13. The rainbows in my eyes divide us | 365 days of defiance
  14. society | yi-ching lin photography
  15. of good hosts | Anawnimiss
  16. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | The Wandering Poet
  17. Home Is Where Your Rump Rests | The Dragon Weyr
  18. Saudi Arabia Was Beautiful But I’m Happy It’s Not My Home, Anymore | Kosher Adobo
  19. Daily Prompt: West End Girls « Mama Bear Musings
  20. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | The High Society of Cows and Foxes
  21. Home (Daily Prompt) | Writing and Works
  22. Daily Prompt: Our House | One Starving Activist
  23. We Are All Immigrants | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  24. Classes In Society | My Little Avalon
  25. Anywhere is a Place for Prayer | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  26. Prompt’d To Post: West End Girls (Fairfield County, Connecticut) « The October Weekend
  27. Culture shock | A picture is worth 1000 words
  28. The beauty in hindsight | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  29. Love Don’t live THERE Anymore | peacefulblessedstar
  30. MANY CULTURES ONE COMMUNITY | Francine In Retirement
  31. The “Hood” back in the day… | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  32. West End Girls: Daily Post | Destino
  33. My home’s patio | Life is great
  34. A real hodge podge … | 365 And Counting
  35. Society | Among the Whispers
  36. Memories | Views Splash!
  37. Neighbors | Flowers and Breezes
  38. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  39. Society? Who Needs It. | 61 Musings
  40. Daily Prompt: Children’s Society | medicinalmeadows
  41. My Abrupt Descent Into the Cesspit of Humanity | Thinking Diagonally
  42. One drop in a limitless ocean | sayanything
  43. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Basically Beyond Basic
24 thoughts on “Cricket matches and roosters

  1. Pingback: Anywhere is a Place for Prayer | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: The Hood Back in the Day/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Memories | Views Splash!

  6. It’s too bad… I grew up with grandparents who were always friendly neighbors. Now I live in the city surrounded by multi-family houses with little or no yard space between. Durring the summer months the noise is bothersome so we vacation in the country with my mother. I have a love-hate relationship with my neighborhood. It’s such a diverse community and I love it. The neighborhood is very tightly knit. People help one another and look out for the safety of the neighborhood children. The schools lack needed supplies, staff, and resources. There have been several shootings in the 6 years I have lived here. My husband and I occasionally confront drug dealers – to let them know it’s not acceptable to sell drugs in front of our building (and to take it elsewhere “not out on front street” They’re usually respectful of our advice since we are older and wiser, and we are helping keep them out of prison!) I often think of moving to a rural area and living out my dreams on a small farm or homestead… but I would sincerely miss the diversity and the neighbors who have become extended family!

      • Yes, it’s scary at times! Luckily our neighbors are supportive of our efforts. I think as with anything the key is speaking with respect and genuine concern. No one wants to see children get hurt or spend their life in prison – not even drug dealers! I understand these people are often desperate to make ends meet. I think that makes them more receptive to what I’m saying… But yes, I do need to be careful and tread lightly!

  7. Pingback: My Abrupt Descent Into the Cesspit of Humanity | Thinking Diagonally

  8. Pingback: West End Girls: Middle East Boys? | Khana's Web

  9. Pingback: Now That’s Classy!!! | The Shotgun Girls

  10. Pingback: CATS! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  11. Yes there is something said about nice neighbors or at least neighbors that acknowledge you exist. I on the other hand love my wide open nothingness behind my home, my nearest neighbor is ¼ mile away. Our horses grace our backyard and I am content knowing that 40 acres surrounds my home. I live where some still leave doors unlocked or keys hanging in the car in the yard. But our community is close knit if one is ill with sickness (cancer, heart attack or other) there are many that rally around them to make sure little ones get to and from school and activities, also provide meals and money if needed. We are over 3,000 in size yet I know most by first name or at least know one of their relatives strange yet most live miles apart for us we are 10 miles from town and still considered neighbors to those who live in town. Strange how some live so close, my husband and I travel to city once and awhile and marvel at the tightness of homes together and say this is not the way for us to live – we both crave our space when we get back home. And the crickets in our backyard are the ones that chirp and make noise as dusk approaches.

  12. Pingback: My home’s patio | Life is great

  13. Pingback: Suburbian Blues | Edward Hotspur

  14. I guess that’s how people roll all around the world. Bus Apna Apna….
    Anyways, I’m in Dubai as well. Would love to meet up with you & ur little cutie pie. You have my email address. Holla! 🙂

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

