Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence

Saira had twin boys. Well they were not exactly twins but there were just 11months between them and for all practicalities they were like twins. As you can imagine, her house was always filled with excited voices, magnified screams, simultaneous laughter and heartbreaking crying.

One day as Saira went about her household chores leaving the two boys playing in the lounge she heard something unusual.

Silence.

On further investigation she discovered them in the bathroom with her younger son standing in a bucket of water with his clothes on and her older son pouring water on his head with a mug. Apparently they felt the heat of the summer and decided to have a bath with the younger one going first.

P1010214For a mother, silence sets off alarm bells. If there is silence and my 4 year old is not asleep then he is definitely up to no good. And if when I approach him he tells me that he is not doing anything I can be sure that he has already done it.

My son is extremely talkative and he is talking non-stop until he falls asleep. Literally. He talks while watching TV since there are a lot of questions to be asked, he talks while he’s having a bath and of course his stories are endless while he’s playing.

When I was pregnant with him he heard a lot of silence. I used to go to work where I would sit alone in my own office, come home and read a bit, not watch any TV and fall asleep. My husband was working in another city so there was nobody to talk to either. After all that silence, I think my son is making up for it.

But now I am so used to the house echoing my son’s personality, that when he is not around the silence can be deafening.

Chitter chatter, chatter chatter

Through the whole day,

It’s really so much better,

To hear my son play.

Tick tock, tick tock,

Go the clocks in my home

No sounds of sweet talk

When my son’s out to roam.

Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence

  1. The Sound of Silence | Through the Peacock’s Eyes
  2. Listen to the silence | Master Of Disaster
  3. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | JGTravels
  4. Eight Things I Wish I Knew Before I Taught at a Boarding School | Kosher Adobo
  5. The Sounds of Silence* | Icescreammama
  6. underwood | yi-ching lin photography
  7. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Moments | anonim0us
  9. Moments | anonim0us
  10. Silent Agony | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  11. Silent crimes | Speaking Voiceless
  12. The Sound of Silence is a beautiful thing | Amanda Montomery
  13. Hug Her Back | Fish Of Gold
  14. Media Blackouts Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  15. As Loud as Silence | Chimerical Chicanery
  16. Unspeakable | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  17. Aborted Words | The Backwords
  18. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | carojesu
  19. yesterday’s snow lets | y
  20. A SILENT SONG | Diary of a mind
  21. A Common Baby Myth: Babies Should Sleep in Silence.. Ssshhh! | Peek-a-boo: Baby and You!
  22. Silence « mediumblackdog
  23. Never Give Up, Never Give In: My Epiphany! | Hope and Faith
  24. Brady’s Silence (explicit) | Stories From My Mind
  25. Coyote Hill | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  26. A Silence Louder Than Words | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  27. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Tales from the Motherland
  28. When The Silence Almost Deafens You | Unload and Unwind
  29. Classy Broad
  30. The Day I Found My Voice | A Path of Living Stones
  31. When you said “Nobody loves you” | So Not Simple
  32. Finding what you didn’t know you were looking for… | Crap I Blog About
  33. WWC: The Sound of Silence | Learning the Anishinaabe Way
  34. Who Said So? | Buzzy Beez
  35. Silence challenge | knovak616
  36. The Silence Welcomes Me | StormieSteele
  37. Weekly Writing Challenge: Have you seen me? | Life of A Fallen Angel
  38. Silence | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  39. The Things We Don’t Say | A Sign Of Life
  40. Breaking The Sound Of Silence | At least we made it this far…
  41. In the silence of a word | MC’s Whispers
  42. From Silence Came Wisdom | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  43. Blog challenge – The sound of silence « Defy The Narrative
  44. Could the end of ‘that time of the month’ be related to that time of the year? | Minnesota Transplant
  45. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Echoes of My Past
  46. Good Grief | Wittyburg.com
  47. silence and snow | from dreams to plans
  48. Weekly Writing Challenge: Sounds of Silence | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  49. Jumpers for goalposts… | Dreaminspice
  50. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Pop-Culture-Referenced
  51. The Silent Sisters | 22 going on 33
  52. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Bringing Out the God-Colors in the World
  53. Suicide no. 27: Vow of Silence | derekalanwilkinson
  54. Silent White | Mary J Melange
  55. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Your Original LUPUSDIVA….
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | No Apologies
  57. Cable Cut-off | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  58. Silence so Loud | My Weigh To Lose
  59. Silencing the Critics’ Chorus | V Learns Something New
  60. Silence of the Blog « ph.d. in creative writing
  61. Life: The Search For Someone Who Understands You | Paint Before Death
  62. Silence | Dandilyonz-4-U
  63. Remaining Silent | Bits of Life
  64. Inexhaustible Treasure | Love in the Spaces
  65. HOW DOES SILENCE SOUND? | SERENDIPITY
  66. A moment in Paris | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”

28 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence

  1. I love this line: “And if when I approach him he tells me that he is not doing anything I can be sure that he has already done it.” It’s cool to see how silence means so many things to different people.

  2. Hahahaha ” I didn’t do anything” act- priceless, have done so many times, still do it sometimes when necessary 😉
    I remember when we were kids everytime there was silence from our side mom used to peek in and ask” Did you all fight again?” 😛 and I used to get the glare usually cz Being the only daughter, I have my privileges.
    I would love to talk to Nadir. 😀

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Sounds of Silence | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  4. Pingback: HOW DOES SILENCE SOUND? | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: A moment in Paris | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  6. Pingback: litadoolan

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  8. Pingback: Aborted Words | The Backwords

  9. Pingback: it’s haircut day | Musings of a Random Mind

  10. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | The Wandering Poet

  11. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence – 17 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  12. children are rarely silent, unless as you say they are sleeping or up to something, it can take some getting used to when you are used to peace and quiet! with my eldest left home and my teenage son most often in his room buried in computer games the peace and quiet has returned to our home mostly.. and i miss the noise! lol!

  13. Pingback: The Awkward Love Song of Abigail Archer [BOOK REVIEW] | Ramisa the Authoress

  14. Pingback: The Awkward Love Song of Abigail Archer [BOOK REVIEW] | Ramisa the Authoress

  15. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 20th February, 2014 | Wired With Words

Leave a Reply

