Jobs & Benefits

Before I had my son I was working in Project Management in a Telecom company and looking after the sales reporting for a region. I was based in Pakistan and my boss was located in France. I used to connect with my boss and the other project managers of the region via conference calls. I was doing really well and getting huge bonuses and increments. I also would often fly to Egypt for meetings with all expenses covered by the company and any training I needed would be done in France.

I was a real hot shot.

And then along comes little Mr. Nadir and all my priorities changed. My company wrote a work from home policy (since they didn’t have one at the time) to facilitate my staying with them. I tried a month of it but I couldn’t concentrate on my work. How can you if your son is crying for you. I decided that if I couldn’t do well at my job there was no point in doing it at all. For me the motivation in doing something is if I can do it to the best of my ability. Financially we could do with my husband’s salary.

I quit my job.

I quickly came to the conclusion that raising a child was more difficult than any job I had done. There were no fixed timings, no coffee breaks, no sick leave and no salary benefits. And more than the work itself it is the consequences of what you do that are so daunting. The way you raise a child will largely affect the type of person he/she grows up to be. He/she will affect so many other people in his/her life and so on and so forth. The work you do in an office seems so trivial in comparison.

Now it’s been 4 years since I quit and I don’t miss my job as such but I do miss earning my own money. If I was to have an ideal job it would be one which just required me to work half day (in the morning) when my son would be at school. Obviously I would never have that seniority again as when I left but I wouldn’t mind any kind of work as long as I was there to pick up my son from school and for the rest of the day.

After all getting a hug from him and hearing his stories is more gratifying than any amount of money.

Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing

  1. Too Much ____________! | The Photo Faith Challenge
  2. Daily Prompt: Work « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Questions from a three legged alien | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Ballerina | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Pride Stinks | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt – Money for Nothing | Views Splash!
  7. My Job Makes Me Feel Sexier Each Day | My Life and My Career
  8. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing -Stock Trader | Journeyman
  9. Writing in PostMortem | 365 days of defiance
  10. Chasing The Dream Job: A Haiku; Saturday, February 15, 2014 | LisaRosier.com
  11. Daily Prompt: Money or Nothing | Thoughts of an INFP
  12. Daily Prompt: Work, an artist’s rendition | VNA Images
  13. My DrEaM jOb…. | ensuing light…
  14. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing « Mama Bear Musings
  15. Montreal Mystery Mansion: Redpath Family Home to be Demolished | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  16. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Awl and Scribe
  17. Living, Learning, Earning and Leaving | The White Coat Chronicles
  18. My Dream of a Perfect Day… | Midwestern Plants
  19. Passion Brings You Money ! | Knowledge Addiction
  20. Lawyer Up « Mon Cache
  21. My Goal For My Future « One Crazy Mom
  22. One Crazy Mom
  23. My Dream Job « One Crazy Mom
  24. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  25. DP Daily Prompt: | Sabethville
  26. a medium maybe? | peacefulblessedstar
  27. Forging friendships and learning: help me pitch? | callieweylin
  28. A Soaring Heart | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  29. Daily Prompt: Work | That Montreal Girl
  30. 265. The Perfect Job | Barely Right of Center
  31. That’s My Life | Flowers and Breezes
  32. Artsy Fartsy | Maria For Real
  33. If I were a Carpenter and You were a Lady? | meanderedwanderings
  34. Dreamy job! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  35. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Working Fur Free… | Haiku By Ku
  37. Whats more lovely than being a part of kindergarten? | harinivasudev
  38. Rabbiting on: Marzipan Three | alienorajt
  39. I May Not Have a Piece of Paper, But I’m Fluent in Proficiency | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  40. American Dream | Finale to an Entrance
  41. Ideas4Humanity.com(tm)
  42. Dreams Do Change | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  43. Dream Job | My Play Nook
  44. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Not The Sword But The Pen
  45. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | The Poet Stefan
  46. General Hospital Explores How Someone Learns Homophobia
  47. Dreaming About My Dream Job – Musings | wangsgard.com
  48. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing – Inspiring the World or Sinful Pleasure Seeker | Just Be V
  49. Daily Prompt : Dream Job | Processing the life
  50. No money | Life is great
  51. Life of a zookeeper in an imagined zoo | A picture is worth 1000 words
  52. Beowulf/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  53. IS THIS WORK! | Francine In Retirement
  54. Word Doctor | thejimmieG
  55. DP: Work | As I See It
  56. Daily prompt: Money for nothing | laura-in-china
  57. Daily Prompt, 15 February 2014: Money for Nothing | The San Francisco Scene–Seen!
  58. Rite of labour | shame
  59. Isn’t It Obvious? | Under the Monkey Tree
  60. Зимен пейзаж от майстора на ремонтите на битова техника по домовете в София | lxpress2
  61. Why I Think the Atlantic is Right: Where is the Love? In the Philippines. | Kosher Adobo
  62. DP: The Mirror of Erised | Scorched Ice
  63. Compagnon de Voyage….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  64. Time Lord Required: Apply Within (It’s Bigger) | Steve Says….
  65. Why haven’t I pursued my dream job? | Life Sans God
  66. Money for Nothing | Life on the Golden Rock
  67. Dreams Do Come True | Visions Of a Vikzen
  68. Money for Nothing | I’m a runner and so can you
  69. Daily Prompt: Being Paid for Nothing! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  70. Daily Prompt – Money for Nothing? | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  71. RUINED FOR WORK | SERENDIPITY
  72. Day 46. . . Ultimate Job | Dear Blog ’14
  73. Job = Work… Even in Your Dreams | My Author-itis
  74. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Believe | sky blue with daisies
  75. Monk for the Revolution | Coyota Fiera
  76. Day 46: Dream A Little Dream | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  77. Daily Prompt Feb 2014 | The Life of A Working Mum
  78. Why I teach | Muddy River Muse
  79. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Basically Beyond Basic
  80. Money For Fun and Creativeness | Read Me
  81. Haiku: Righteous Work | Dhikrcave
  82. The Pioneering Mathematician | [In]motivation
  83. Give me the ski slopes any day | 2 times pink
  84. What Am I Supposed To Do With My Life? | lynnesartandsoul
  85. Daily Prompt: Work, What have I been doing today? | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  86. In response to the Daily Prompt: “Money for Nothing” | simply vettie
  87. Daily prompt: It’s raining on Pollyanna Rock | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  88. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Occasional Stuff
  89. Chesapeake Waterman’s Shanty | Exploratorius
  90. Work: Whatever You Do… | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  91. Seven boredom-busting ideas for kids in Sydney | discovering anywhere
  92. Life Of A Cosmetologist!
  93. If I had my druthers | Willow’s Corner
  94. Big Bucks of Babysitting | 365 Days of Thank You
  95. A Day I Dream Of Living | Call Me Incorrigible
  96. The Ultimate | Help Along the Path
  97. Money for Nothing – Ramblings from the Swamp
  98. Work: Daily Post | Destino
  99. what i do for love | In The Moment
14 thoughts on “Jobs & Benefits

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Work | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: a medium maybe? | peacefulblessedstar

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: MONEY FOR NOTHING – RUINED FOR WORK | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: No money | Life is great

  6. Pingback: What Am I Supposed To Do With My Life? | lynnesartandsoul

  7. Pingback: what i do for love | In The Moment

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Trip the light fantastic | litadoolan

  10. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Do Whatever Works For You” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

