No regrets

I sometimes wonder what would have happened if my father had allowed me to go to live in a hostel and study architecture.

Math was my favorite subject and I was also fond of drawing (though not very good) and when I finished school I thought architecture would be the ideal career for me. But the only college was in another city and that meant I would have to live in a hostel. My father thought I was too young to be living on my own and he refused to let me go.

I was not a rebel and I just agreed with his decision. I went to a local college, took Pre-engineering and ended up doing Masters in Electronics from a local University.

What if I had been more persistent and convinced my father to send me to the college to study architecture? Would it have made a difference to my life?

I think I would have struggled more. Maybe I could have set up my own company after graduating like I know some people did. And then I would have got married and had children. Would I have given up my career that easily? Or would I have gone back to work after a couple of years?

Somehow I still think I would have ended up at the same point in my life as I am at now. Except that instead of saying I had a career in Telecom I would have called myself an architect. It really wouldn’t have made much of a difference.

I can safely say that I’m glad that things turned out the way they did and I have no regrets. I’m also glad that I don’t have the choice to change decisions in real life because I’d be terrified to do it and not know where I’d end up.

There’s a prayer we say before taking big decisions and it’s something like this: “Dear God, please make things which are good for me easy to happen and the things which are bad for me, remove from my path and make me content with whatever happens.” And so I believe that all decisions that were taken and all things that happened were in some way (apparent or not so obvious) good for me. Thus there are no regrets and no need for iterations.

Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way

  1. Thawing inch by inch | Never Stationary
  2. Condemned | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Home | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. It wasn’t even a nokia | Casually Short
  5. Dale And The Surreal | The Jittery Goat
  6. A Memory from the Kitchen Years | AS I PLEASE
  7. Second Chance | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  8. The Affair: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  9. Things I regret | muffinscout
  10. Into the Forest I Wish I Went | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  11. DP Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | Sabethville
  12. in your mother tongue, | y
  13. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  14. Climbing the Stick — Redux | Exploratorius
  15. Hindsight, the Road not Taken and a Conversation with a Man Named Nicodemus | meanderedwanderings
  16. Wish Upon A Star | marjanitalarosa
  17. Daily Post: Bye, Bye Paris | Willow Blackbird
  18. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | The Wandering Poet
  19. Equivocation | La Gatita Oscura
  20. It’s time to complain (Again) | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  21. Redo from Start! | L5GN
  22. His plan for me (pantoum) | peacefulblessedstar
  23. While I’m Away From You My Son | Raising Jed
  24. Too Much… | Tommia’s Tablet
  25. Wish to Uncover the hidden secrets of human brain | Outreach
  26. This is My Life | Real Momma Ramblings
  27. No Regrets Here | The Shotgun Girls
  28. Major Alert | Wanderlein
  29. OmG … Noodles Grow On My Head | So Not Simple
  30. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way « Mama Bear Musings
  31. re-set | sarahscapes
  32. And THEN… Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  33. Regrets In My Heart | Flowers and Breezes
  34. Daily Prompt: February 11 | A Balmy Life
  35. Iteration – photo | alienorajt
  36. If I Could Turn Back Time | Losing It
  37. Daily Prompt – I Won’t Bribe! | Views Splash!
  38. What I did for love | Life is great
  39. If I could turn back time, would he now walk differently? | My thoughts on a page.

23 thoughts on “No regrets

  1. Pingback: And THEN… Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | The Wandering Poet

  3. I would put money on your love of Architecture always enriching your life. You are so gifted to major in Electronics (and be a writer). I for one am impressed. There is so much hope in this post and I feel too that we always end up in the right/best place. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did It My Way | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. The most important thing I believe is you are happy. By not going against your father’s wishes you made him happy. What you hoped to be and which did not materialize did not make you unhappy.So why should you talk about regret?
    Daily Prompts always have some kind of string attached, it is up to us to take it or leave it.

  6. I love this prayer… 🙂 Thanks for posting it. I’m on the edge of a big decision and I guess somewhere inside of me this prayer has taken shape. I am treading carefully forward and paying attention to what works and what doesn’t. This prayer is my new friend.

  7. Pingback: If life had a restart button | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | To Breathe is to Write

  10. Pingback: Shuffling | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: The Camino Plan | So How Do I Afford This Pilgrimage?

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | planningforaccidents

  14. I loved your prayer because this is the exact prayer I said ten years ago…when I was totally confused about life…I believe whatever happens always happens for good…at the end everything does fall into places….

Leave a Reply

