Mother tongue

20140210_175600Whenever I fill out any forms for my son, they ask about his mother tongue. I write Urdu in that but what’s funny is that he doesn’t know it at all except to say Yes, No and Goodbye.

When we came to Dubai my son was not even a year old. Everyone told me that he wouldn’t get admission in any school until he could speak English fluently. So I made sure that I spoke to him in English all the time. I thought he would learn his mother tongue Urdu along the way. But that didn’t happen.  Now at 4, he speaks English beyond his years and according to his teacher his vocabulary is outstanding for his age. But if you talk to him in Urdu he’ll just stare blankly at you.

I have realized my mistake and am trying to rectify it. I have a tutor who comes in to teach him the Quran and speaks to him in Urdu. We haven’t made much headway yet but hopefully we’ll get there. He doesn’t like the fact that he has to study just after coming back from school and half way through the lesson he tells his teacher “Khudahafiz” meaning Goodbye!

We are planning to visit our home country in April and I’m worried that he won’t be able to speak to most of the people there who speak only Urdu. Imagine their disappointment when they will be meeting him after more than 3 years and won’t even get to talk to him. And they’ll really be missing out because his stories are wonderful to hear.

P.S. I actually got my son to pose with his tongue sticking out so I could have a photo for my post. He didn’t like being interrupted while he was busy at play. But after a lot of coercing I finally got my photo. He is a good sport!

Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta!

  1. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Basically Beyond Basic
  2. Istanbul – çok pahalı çok güzel | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Let’s talk in verse | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Teachable Moments Are The Last Refuge Of Tyrants | The Jittery Goat
  5. Concrete Navy | Exploratorius
  6. Daily Prompt: Take That Rosetta | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  7. Lovely language of love and lust – Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  8. Cat Tongues are rough | Purple Rosemary
  9. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  11. Screaming in Unheard Tongues | 365 days of defiance
  12. Give Me it ALL, Rosetta Stone | The Mercenary Researcher
  13. Daily Prompt: Being Fluent! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  14. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! | Step It Up
  15. A Punch! | Hope* the happy hugger
  16. DP Daily Prompt: Take That Rosetta! | Sabethville
  17. Arena de Verona – Bucket List | My Little Avalon
  18. Daily prompt : Take That Rosetta | La chica de la burbuja
  19. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! « cognitive reflection
  20. Daily Post: Take That : TONGUE: They Call It Puppy Love | heysugarsugar
  21. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! | imagination
  22. timoun radyan ini | peacefulblessedstar
  23. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | seikaiha’s
  24. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta « Mama Bear Musings
  25. A Prayer | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  26. Puppy Tongues… | Haiku By Ku
  27. 262. New Fluency | Barely Right of Center
  28. ANYONE WANT SOME TONGUE? | SERENDIPITY
  29. Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. For the love of Urdu | Rima Hassan
  31. Daily Post: Tongue, served with a side of ‘Dukkitude’ | Violet Skye
21 thoughts on “Mother tongue

  1. We sometimes misunderstand the ability of children,and expose them to languages sparingly. You’d be surprised how much they can learn in a very short time. I grew up in a place where Urdu was spoken by kids in my neighborhood. My siblings and I had no trouble speaking it. My father told us we can learn any language,he didn’t have any problem with it. There was one condition as soon as we stepped in the house we must speak Bengali which happens to be my mother tongue.We went to a school where the medium of instruction was English. We were not allowed to speak any other language besides English. We grew up learning all three fluently.
    I’m sure your son will surprise you when you go home.

  2. I’m sure given more exposure to the language he will pick up urdu more, kids have an interesting way of adapting to the environment separately in different situations 🙂

  3. Pingback: ANYONE WANT SOME TONGUE? | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: timoun radyan ini | peacefulblessedstar

  6. Pingback: Grüezi! Daily Post | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. My two children were born in Austria. For the first 4/5 years of their lives they just spoke German but could understand English. When we came back to New Zealand to live after a particularly nasty divorce they both made conscious decisions even at that age not to speak German. Within 6 months they were both fluent in English. Now 13 years later they can’t speak much German at all. If anything their father had to learn English to be able to communicate with them. I tried to keep their German up with videos but they didn’t want to watch them. I think they both regret it now. 🙂

  8. Pingback: How Speaking French Could Make You Sexy! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  9. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Spanish Lessons For The Road

  10. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | To Breathe is to Write

    • Dear Mel,
      Congratulations! And thank you for thinking of me. I’m truly honored. However I regret to inform you that since I already have this award I cannot accept your nomination.
      All the best,
      Zainab

  11. Pingback: Parlez Vous Francais? | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  12. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | The Wandering Poet

  13. Pingback: Speak To Me | Edward Hotspur

  14. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

