Top 10 Weird Driving Trips

It was around two and a half years ago that I got my driving license after 5 attempts at the test. I was extremely delighted since it meant that I didn’t have to appear in the test a 6th time and also there would be no problem dropping and picking my son who was soon to start school.

Since then I have made some regular trips and some irregular ones. Here are some of the weird trips I have had to make:PicsArt_1391090110588

  1. Going to the park to pick up my son after an emergency call from his nanny because he needed to do potty and there’s no toilet near the park.
  2. Taking him back when he was done.
  3. Getting an ice cream for my husband from the nearby market late at night because he was craving for one and was too tired to get it himself. What can I say, I’m a dutiful wife!
  4. Rushing to the birthday supply shop to have helium balloons filled up in time for my husband’s surprise birthday party.balloons
  5. Going to my son’s school to pick up his little rubber monster toy which he forgot to bring back with him and threw a big tantrum when he found out it was missing.20140130_181343
  6. Bundling my aged mother, her wheelchair, my son, his stroller and his nanny into the car for a trip to the aquarium. It was worth it, we had a blast!20130714_160738
  7. Bundling 4 ladies and 4 children in my 7-seater with supplies for a ladies day out in the park. This one I could have skipped.
  8. Bringing two tables, 16 chairs and birthday supplies for my son’s birthday party on a day when it had rained heavily and flooded many roads. Thankfully the rain didn’t spoil the party and the tables and chairs looked lovely.P1010408
  9. Making a trip to the Oman consulate and getting lost in the process only to find out that we could get a visa on arrival.
  10. Rushing to the hospital emergency in the middle of the night with my son who wouldn’t stop coughing and was refusing to be nebulized. The staff was so inefficient they didn’t see him till half an hour, but thankfully the coughing had stopped more or less.

12 thoughts on “Top 10 Weird Driving Trips

    • I had been driving since a long time in my home country but when I moved to Dubai I had to do lessons and the test to get a license. It really is a blessing to know how to drive and I don’t know how I’d get by without it.

  1. Yay for you getting that license. Nothing like the freedom that comes from keys and a set of wheels. And isn’t that the way things go. Rain on the big day and you had to move all the party supplies. Looks like the birthday was a great success.

Leave a Reply

