Lucky Number

“What’s your lucky number going to be?” asked me the girl sitting next to me at the licensing office.

“What do you mean?” I had completed my driving classes and was waiting for my turn to appear in the test.

“I mean how many attempts will it take you to pass?” she answered, “I heard of a man who passed on the 26th attempt.”

“26th??? Is that even possible?” Every time you fail you have to do more driving classes and then reappear in the test. I was sure she was making this up just to rattle me.

Fresh with this bit of information I went in to appear in the test.

The first time I made a mistake backing out the car.

The second time I made a mistake turning left.

The third time I messed up on the roundabout.

The fourth time I bungled up the U turn.

The fifth time I didn’t make any mistake and I passed. I guess my lucky number was 5.

I think it’s quite likely that someone made 26 attempts. I admire his resilience and determination but I hope I never meet him on the road. 🙂

Daily Prompt: Your Day are Numbered

  1. 26 | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  2. Ah, The Lonely People | The Jittery Goat
  3. Stop that Wrecking Train | THE OVERCOMING
  4. DP Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | Sabethville
  5. 26 | Life Love Lily
  6. Twenty six | Sue’s Trifles
  7. Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | niennie
  8. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with some Ink and a Hammer | Rusted Steel and Jagged Fang
  9. Turning into it | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  10. 26 Things at 26 | 52 Miles per Month
  11. Giving my 26 weary bones a time-out in a New York minute « psychologistmimi
  12. Check Yourself | The Photo Faith Challenge
  13. The Things | Muhammad Saif Ali
  14. Why a Boat? | Exploratorius | Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer
  15. Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  16. Strength in Numbers | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  17. Daily Prompt: Your Days Are Numbered | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  18. The 26th Day Of The Year | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  19. That’s All Folks | Charron’s Chatter
  20. Irony, Humility and the Workings of God | meanderedwanderings
  21. Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | Basically Beyond Basic
  22. January 26: My Days are Numbered | theempathyqueen
  23. January 26: My Days as a Mom are Numbered | theempathyqueen
  24. The Numbers Game | LenzExperiments
  25. January 26, 08:26am | The Playground
  26. Too young to be a Parent- Daily Prompt | The River Mom
  27. Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered [Going to Work] | sixty, single and surviving
  28. 26 | lulubellaloveslife
  29. Your Days are Numbered: The sacred & unutterable name of God | Khana’s Web
  30. What I Hoped For | Flowers and Breezes
  31. What’s with Math? | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  32. Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered (26) | My Outlook on the World
  33. The Mechanics of Math | Green Embers
  34. Busy at 26 | fingerprintwriting
  35. 26 | My Little Avalon
  36. The Flu Gremlins | Fictionalism
17 thoughts on “Lucky Number

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days Are Numbered | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Twenty Six Is A Number | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  4. Pingback: Your Days are Numbered: The sacred & unutterable name of God | Khana's Web

  5. Pingback: Giving my 26 weary bones a time-out in a New York minute « psychologistmimi

  6. Pingback: Your Days Are Numbered at Twenty-Six | jigokucho

  7. Pingback: Twenty-Six/ Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  8. Pingback: HURRAH FOR NUMBER 26! | Serendipity

  9. Pingback: Ah, The Lonely People | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Once And Zeros | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: Of a bad week. | Concentrate On Yourself

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | The Wandering Poet

  14. Pingback: Lucky Number | time is money

Leave a Reply

