I live in a city (Poem)

I live in a city where

There are flowers but no butterflies

Where a mall can boast snow and ice

And rain induced falls from the skies.

I live in a city where

There are people next door I never see

Where family is far but visitors aplenty

And people in malls just let you be.

I live in a city where

Records are broken with a tip of a hat

Highest, tallest, biggest this, largest that

And wrongdoings are dealt with stat.

I live in a city where

You can live all your life and not belong

You go to a hotel, bring your maid along

And laws are equal for weak and strong.

I live in a city where

Designer shoes and bags are the norm

The humblest person can soon transform

And a little bit of rain is called a storm.

I live in a city where

I’ll move on from in a matter of time

This city will evolve to its most sublime

And someone else will write this rhyme.

*All photographs taken by by the author/poet

Daily Prompt: We Built This City

  1. Alien on the fence | The Bliss of Reality
  2. Dubai World Trade Center Wedding: Amal & Mahmood | Rima Hassan
  3. Street lamp hiding in the trees | The Bliss of Reality
  4. Rebuilding the City – where to start | A Teacher’s Blog
  5. [M.M.X.I.V. 68] Where Chicago and the North Shore Meet | Never A Worry
  6. The Daily Prompt & Start With We (short story) | The Jittery Goat
  7. Civilisation | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  8. Making love – the role of the sacred. Civilisation | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  9. DP Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Sabethville
  10. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | In the Shadows
  11. If I were mayor… | Sue’s Trifles
  12. Once promising, the colour has started to fade. Fast. | thoughtsofrkh
  13. Ogden Shmogden | Community | WANGSGARD
  14. San Francisco Twenty Twelve Part One | Greg Urbano
  15. My beautiful Melbourne | Purplesus’ Blog
  16. No Place I’d Rather Be | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  17. DAILY PROMPT: Getting back to nature | cockatooscreeching
  18. Train journeys | A picture is worth 1000 words
  19. Daily Prompt: We Built This City- Psychology behind embracing change | Journeyman
  20. Daily Prompt: We Built This City | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  21. civilization | yi-ching lin photography
  22. Daily Prompt: My Town | A Day In The Life
  23. most cities are | y
  24. Where I live | Kate Murray
  25. If I Was A Mayor | Flowers and Breezes
  26. Spring – A Haiku | My Little Avalon
  27. Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Basically Beyond Basic
  28. We Built This City: Civilization – Cat City | Khana’s Web
  29. What’s The Word On The Street? Betting Shops, Pawn Shops & Empty Shops… | Steve Says…
  30. Build Your City | Faith, Life and Compassion
  31. In My City… | Life Confusions
  32. Do Pgh Memes Inherently Have To Be Racist, Transphobic and Vicious?
  33. what of the stories | peacefulblessedstar
  34. Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. Sitting in a P.A. Haze | Finale to an Entrance
  36. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am

34 thoughts on “I live in a city (Poem)

  1. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 68] Where Chicago and the North Shore Meet | Never A Worry

  2. Pingback: Civilisation | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  3. Pingback: Making love – the role of the sacred. Civilisation | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  5. Pingback: We Built This City: Civilization – Cat City | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: what of the stories | peacefulblessedstar

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  9. Pingback: Home is Where the Art Is | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  10. Pingback: A BIT OF CIVILIZATION | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  11. Pingback: Earthquakes and Civilizations | Cancer Isn't Pink

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | The Wandering Poet

  13. Pingback: Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  14. Pingback: We Built This City, We Built WordPress | Views Splash!

  15. Pingback: We Built This City (Writing Prompt) | 365 Days of Thank You

  16. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  17. Pingback: of the perceived smallness of the world | Anawnimiss

  18. Pingback: लाजिम्पाटमा – म काम गर्न जाँदै छु | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Leave a Reply

