Craving Appreciation

If you could have a guarantee that one, specific person was reading your blog, who would you want that person to be? Why? What do you want to say to them?

I would want my husband reading my blog. There I said it.

What would I want to say to him? It’s not what I want to say to him, if I wanted to say something to him I would say it the next time I met him. It’s what I want HIM to say.

Wouldn’t it be a dream if the next time we went out and we met someone he knew, he would introduce me as follows:

“This is my wife, she quit her job to look after our son and now she’s a brilliant writer!”

What can I say, I crave appreciation. And there’s no use telling him that I want to hear this because then it’s not the same, is it?

He does read what I write occasionally (sometimes I send him the link) and he does tell me it’s good but sorry that’s not good enough. He has to tell me it’s brilliant without my prompting him.

What is that you’re saying? Maybe I’m not brilliant after all? Well yes, that could be it 😦

But aren’t husbands SUPPOSED to say nice things about their wives?

So should I send him THIS link?

Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation

  1. Soviet Pupil | Vintage Photography
  2. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation « cognitive reflection
  3. DP Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Sabethville
  4. One | Active Army Wife
  5. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Under the Monkey Tree
  6. Pain in the Back? Exercise May help you not to feel it. | The Jittery Goat
  7. The One | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  8. AS I PLEASE
  9. Why bother | AS I PLEASE
  10. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Thoughts of an INFP
  11. Sir Terry Pratchett: Daily prompt | alienorajt
  12. The Interview: My Favorite Fictional Character | A Teacher’s Blog
  13. Singular Sensation – Terry Pratchett | L5GN
  14. Shoulder Space Available: Inquire Here | THE OVERCOMING
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: One | LenzExperiments
  16. For her | not4faintheartsblog
  17. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Your Daily Dose
  18. Behind the Curtain « Mon Cache
  19. A Mother’s Grief | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  20. The ONE & only… | LenzExperiments
  21. One | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  22. If I Could Guarantee These People Read My Blog
  23. Singular Sensation | Geek Ergo Sum
  24. “A fool such as I” | Hope* the happy hugger
  25. One | Purple Rosemary
  26. WHO IS FOLLOWING ME NOW? | SERENDIPITY
  27. 251. That One Reader | Barely Right of Center
  28. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  29. That One Person | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  30. Daily Prompt : Singular Sensation | Nicole Sloan’s Writing
  31. Waking | johnny ojanpera
  32. Daily Prompt: One | Life With Mike and Lindy
  33. To the Puppy Mill Man… | Haiku By Ku
  34. One surfer’s soliloquy | Rob’s Surf Report
  35. Daily Prompt: One | Lux
  36. Singular Sensation | Living Through My Music
  37. Singular Sensation | Saying Everything
  38. Choosing One | Flowers and Breezes
  39. of disloyal stalkers « Anawnimiss
  40. The perfect blog reader | Blog of Marvelous Things
  41. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Basically Beyond Basic
  42. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Ellie’s Random Blog (<3)
  43. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  44. Singular Sensation: Tom Cruise,Will you be my Cousin? | Miss Spicy Hat N’ Sugar Socks
  45. Thoughts of a wandering drunk
  46. Singular Sensation | The Nameless One
  47. Daily Prompt: A Bathing Beauty | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  48. Are You Being Stalked by a Celebrity? | An Upturned Soul
28 thoughts on “Craving Appreciation

  1. Yes, send him the link! 🙂 My husband is smart and actually signed up to be a follower so he gets email updates of every post, and he’ll usually make a mention of most of them. It really does make a huge difference to have that support from your significant other.

  2. Pingback: One | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  3. I agree with Sarah…. Sometimes menfolk will need a little ‘pointing in the right direction’ (read clear and specific directions!)…after all they ARE from Mars!

  4. Pingback: WHO IS FOLLOWING ME NOW? | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  6. Well, at least your husband reads what you write sometimes (mine has NEVER read my blog!) At any rate, I think you should send him the link. Sometimes husbands need a little reminding 🙂

  7. Pingback: Thoughts of a wandering drunk

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Singular Sensation: The Chosen One | Khana's Web

  10. Pingback: The One Reader/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  11. Pingback: Diane Young. The World’s Greatest Grandmother | Gradual Thought

  12. Pingback: Pain in the Back? Exercise May help you not to feel it. | The Jittery Goat

  13. NO! Don’t send him the link. You said it yourself, it wouldn’t be the same.

    Maybe send him the link to some other post and he will find his way to this one? Maybe ask a friend to send it to him, but not yourself. (I mean, unless of course, you want to.)

    Anyway, entertaining post, it was nice to read. I understand the feeling of wanting to be appreciated, even if only a little.

    • Haha, well what happened was that I found out that he is actually following my blog and reading what I write. He made an account and downloaded the app on his phone. Now all that remains is for him to give me proper feedback not just “It was good”. 🙂

  14. Pingback: Daily post prompt – Singular sensation | The Wandering Poet

  15. Pingback: Singular sensation | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

