My Dad, My Hero

When I was growing up my Dad was my hero.

He was so handsome and spoke so well and when he spoke, he charmed everyone and everyone listened. He had a magnetic personality and spoke his mind with conviction and honesty.

My father had a brilliant career in the army. He was in service during two wars. As a Major in one of the wars he was second in command of the regiment that made inroads into enemy territory. In the other he was selected to spearhead the main counter-offensive by Pakistan with a Brigade under command which included tank regiments. I have never known anyone as brave as him.

He had a brilliant mind. He patented a device to be used by the military that earned him a very prestigious military award and a double promotion. Later when he retired he taught Defense and Strategy in a University and was very popular among the students.

My father inspired me to be the best I could be. He always took a keen interest in my studies and was always very proud of all his children and when we did well he would tell every one of our achievements.

I loved working with him in his study. I learnt to type so I could type the two books he had written. I would help him when he would be working with his electronics circuits and I knew where he kept all his stuff. I was always fascinated by his instruments and gadgets.

I think I chose to study Electronics just to please him. I knew he would be very happy. Luckily after I graduated I got a job more of my liking.

When he became ill it was devastating for me. To see such a tough man crippled by cancer hurt us terribly. It has been 13 years since he left us and I miss him terribly. I wrote a few words for him some time back which I’m reposting here:

Did I tell you how much I loved you too?

And how much it hurts when I miss you,

Your kind smile, the twinkle in your eye,

All your efforts to make us touch the sky,

Your warm hugs and your handsome face,

Your good advice we could never replace.

I wonder if you can see us from up there,

Our spouses, kids and how we did fare.

It was too soon for you to have gone away

At eternal peace you are, I hope and pray.

With my father

With my father

Daily Prompt: Heroic

  1. Morning milk delivery | Vintage Photography
  2. covet | yi-ching lin photography
  3. Where were You – the Power of Forgiving | A Teacher’s Blog
  4. Siegfried Sassoon, Hopelessness and Iraq | As I please
  5. Feeding The Monster | The Jittery Goat
  6. daily prompt: heroic | aimanss…
  7. Daily Prompt: Heroic « cognitive reflection
  8. DP Daily Prompt: Heroic | Sabethville
  9. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  10. 5 Year Old Hero – The Engine that could. | L5GN
  11. Heroic | Geek Ergo Sum
  12. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Finding Life
  13. The Portal – A Friday Flash Fantasy | My Little Avalon
  14. Heroic Visions | THE OVERCOMING
  15. Tail Business and Heroes! Daily Prompt… | alienorajt
  16. A Little Girl’s Hero « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  17. Daily Prompt: Heroic | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  18. The Dad Who Didn’t Have To Be | theauthorwhoknows
  19. Daily prompt: Heroic | laura-in-china
  20. My Childhood Hero | all my likes
  21. Daily Prompt – Hero. | My Beautiful Messed Up World.
  22. Even Heroes Can Wear Thin « Mon Cache
  23. Are You A Hero in Your Home? | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  24. The Dark Knight | Sébastien Grobelny – Photography
  25. Hanging with the Guys | Nicetomeetyou:I’mCourtney
  26. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. Of becoming your own hero/ heroine. | Concentrate On Yourself
  28. Mr. Rogers Was My Hero
  29. Moon, Moon on the sky…….Watch Me Die | Shadows Of The Divine
  30. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Basically Beyond Basic
  31. My Heroes | Flowers and Breezes
  32. Still my hero | Life is great
  33. Heroic : My 5 Year Old Self. | ♥Barb’s Magical Land Of Oz♥
  34. Who Says Heroes Have to Wear Capes? | meanderedwanderings
  35. The Forgotten Hero | Dance with the Rain
  36. Lawrence of Arabia/Daily Prompt-Hero | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  37. MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – HI YO SILVER! THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY
  38. babusya | peacefulblessedstar
  39. MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY
  40. Daddy | The Magic Black Book
  41. Still my hero | From Five to Fifty
  42. My First Post-marital Blog Post | Vagabond
  43. Five’s Hero.. | Relax
  44. A Father’s Enduring Love | Lisa’s Kansa Muse ~ Dreamy abstraction in a 100 year old Four Square Farm House
  45. Heroic | The Story of a Guy
  46. I don’t remember being five | dreaming of melville
  47. Hero | LOQUACITÉ
  48. 9/11 Heroes | Daily Prompt: Heroic | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  49. Brianne Writes
19 thoughts on “My Dad, My Hero

  1. It must have been hard to loose him like that, he is in a better place.
    Thank you for sharing this with us, you are very lucky indeed to have spent such good times and had such relationship with him, not everyone are so lucky.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Heroic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – HI YO SILVER! THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Heroic | The Story of a Guy

  5. Pingback: Hero | LOQUACITÉ

  6. Pingback: 9/11 Heroes | Daily Prompt: Heroic | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  7. Pingback: My Hero | Brianne Writes

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Heroic | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: Heroic | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  10. Pingback: Feeding The Monster | The Jittery Goat

  11. Pingback: The hero-less five year old | Rob's Surf Report

  12. Pingback: AND STILL HE RIDES! | SERENDIPITY

Leave a Reply

