The Best

I never thought the day would come when the Daily Prompt would mention the bathroom and then tell us to show them THE BEST! If my husband would have been asked that he would have gone off in a totally different (and unacceptable) direction. 😉

As for where I do my best thinking, it has to be in bed when I lie down at night after finishing the day. Everything has been done and my mind can relax. That’s when I come up with some ideas, something to write about, something to craft. I do have trouble sleeping in that case because I’m thinking of the details in my mind and I can’t do anything about it till the next day. But when I do go to sleep and get up the next morning I feel really excited to start the day.

I love that feeling when you have a great idea that’s in your mind and your mind is brimming with creativity and you know that the next few hours are going to be the best because you’ll be putting that idea to work. Something like when you’re really hungry and someone puts a big plate of your favorite dish in front of you.

The best conversation of the day happened this evening. My son was watching TV and my husband and I were sitting on the sofa near him. We both wanted him to come to us so we could get a cuddle. But my son came to me and told his Dad “I’m going to sit with Mama because she’s a pretty girl!” His Dad replied “Come to me also, I’m a handsome boy.” To which my son promptly replied, “No Abbu (Dad) you’re a funny clown!”

One of the best quotes I read about doing your best is by Abraham Lincoln. He said

“ I do the very best I know how – the very best I can; and I mean to keep on doing so until the end.”

Wouldn’t it be great if we could all do that?

Daily Prompt: Simply the Best

  1. A Distracting Ramble Through Nowhere in Particular | As I please
  2. A Heroe’s Welcome Home | The Jittery Goat
  3. My bed is the best spot | Now Have At It!
  4. DP Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Sabethville
  5. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Awl and Scribe
  6. The best place | Pen And IPen And I
  7. Daily Prompt: Simply The Best | Another Blog
  8. My insane mind | all my likes
  9. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. on a wire, happiness | y
  11. daily prompt: simply the best | aimanss…
  12. My best thinking: no exact time, neither exact place, but exact conditions. | Write for learning
  13. Unafraid? | alienorajt
  14. The Best Ideas | Edward Hotspur
  15. All good really, aside from the prunage… | thoughtsofrkh
  16. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best « cognitive reflection
  17. Think, Thank, Thunk. | Short and Feisty
  18. Daily Prompt: Thinking Cap | One Starving Activist
  19. Back to Reality… And My Couch | The Janie Doh Daily
  20. Daily Prompt : Best Thinking | Code Name Incog
  21. I Think, Therefore . . . When I Can! | meanderedwanderings
  22. A Certain State of Mind | SouthRiverside
  23. Simply the Best | Geek Ergo Sum
  24. Walking a path to better writing | Jeremy Podolski
  25. Thinking | Flowers and Breezes
  26. my brain and I | Steinsdotter`s Saga
  27. Emotionally Simple | tembalimbo
  28. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best. | ginnysblogspace
  29. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Misifusa’s Blog
  30. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Simply the Best | The Story of a Guy
  32. Daily Prompt: Photography: My Best Senior Portrait Work | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  33. Daily Prompt: Simply The Best | Finding Life
  34. Bring on the night | Pen Kisses Paper
  35. Warning: Loading Inspiration. Do Not Disturb. | Blue Loft
  36. The best time to write | MC’s Whispers
  37. Thinking? HA! Mom’s don’t get to do that, what are YOU talking about sir? | From One Crazy Life To Another
  38. SIMPLY THE BEST TIME TO THINK? WHAT’S SIMPLE ABOUT IT? | SERENDIPITY
  39. When Everything Aligns | Liv(e) Photography
  40. The Best | 40again’s Blog
  41. While thinking today | life at random outlook
  42. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Basically Beyond Basic
  43. cleansed | peacefulblessedstar
  44. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | thejimmieG
  45. Epiphany musings and my thought patterns | Sue’s Trifles
  46. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  47. Think? / Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  48. A Blessing in Disguise… of a Curse! | An Upturned Soul
  49. 3 Paragraphs on Productivity | The Thoughts Less Traveled
  50. Daily Prompt: Best | Nicola Kirk

10 thoughts on “The Best

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. I do the best thinking in bed too. It’s the worst time to do it, but the only time where the mind can relax enough to process everything that’s happened throughout the day. The quote is great. We should always strive to do our best, in all things.

    • You’re right it is the worst time to do it since a good idea can keep you up for long hours but I really can’t help it that something pops into my mind when I’m lying down to go to sleep.

  3. Pingback: Simply the best…thinking | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. I do my best thinking first thing in the morning – too tired at night. Also if I start writing anywhere near bedtime, ideas and revisions race through my brain all night and I can’t sleep for fear I’ll forget. You son sounds like a cutie.

  5. Pingback: A Hero’s Welcome Home | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: The Best Ideas | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

