My First Book Reading

My knees begin to tremble, my hands shake, my throat is dry and my voice is no more than a whisper.

I’ve been asked to speak in front of a group of people.

That is why I avoid public speaking. I tried to volunteer in college for many activities to get over my fear and build my confidence but each attempt was a disaster. I can go on stage and show off my clothes (as in a fashion show) but if you ask me to speak, I’m a complete failure.

And here I was talking to this lady about having a book reading at her place (she has many activities for children including mini-golf and coffee for the adults). She agreed and we set a date.

As I prepared for the book reading (made my props and practiced reading with them) I thought to myself “What have I got myself into? I’ve never done a book reading before and I’m not sure even sure what it’s supposed to be like. Who am I kidding?”

As I got closer to the date I thought I should have just hired someone to do it or even better got someone for free to read the books for me like my sister who is just great at public speaking. I even suggested this to her but she refused and told me to stop thinking that way.

The evening before a couple of people excused themselves telling me they couldn’t make it. OK no problem, we still have quite a few people coming with their kids. By the morning of the event I didn’t know if anyone was coming. What a disaster. I’ve been preparing for a month and nobody is going to turn up!

In the end we had a few people who came with their kids to listen to the book reading, not quite the number we had been hoping for, but at least enough to put on a show. Now let’s hope the knees keep up and the shaking hands are not visible to everyone.

I was still a bit nervous when I started but then something happened. I connected with the kids. They were listening and answering my questions. My nervousness disappeared.  I didn’t even mind that the parents were also sitting with their children because they were listening too. My props were a hit. At the end I read a few of my poems as well.

And then all the children came to talk to me and buy my books. It felt just great.

After my first book reading I did another one, this time at my son’s school. I read to over 100 children in 5 sessions over 2 days and I didn’t feel nervous at all. Now I know I can do it. I can speak in public, at least to children.

Book reading

Book reading (Part 2)

Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale

  1. A personal Apocalypse | A Teacher’s Blog
  2. A Supposedly Fun Thing I Should Never Have Done in the First Place | As I please
  3. World’s Most Famous Quote | The Jittery Goat
  4. A little out of the ordinary. | Kate Murray
  5. Challenging my inner terror | alienorajt
  6. It – A Flash Fiction Horror Story | My Little Avalon
  7. The Sorcerer’s Quest, The Sorcerer’s Test | 365 days of defiance
  8. Out Of The Window | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. Beyond Comfort Zone | I am Shira
  10. A new experience | all my likes
  11. of flirtation « Anawnimiss
  12. Today’s Prompt: Beyond the Pale | R-ch& Co.
  13. Beyond the pale | Geek Ergo Sum
  14. Beyond the pale | Mindful Digressions
  15. An Upturned Soul – The Long and the Short of It | An Upturned Soul
  16. Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  17. Daily Prompt Challenge: Honesty | Jottings and Writings
  18. S. Thomas Summers | Death by Cold
  19. Daily Prompt: Beyond The Pale | Finding Life
  20. Today Sparrows | shame
  21. Out of My Element by Leaps and Bounds! | meanderedwanderings
  22. Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  23. 2013 Halloween Urban Skating | The Girl with Twine in Her Bag
  24. Newer Plans | crookedeyebrows
  25. Nude Modelling: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  26. Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. Random Thoughts about Blogging and Writing-NEWNESS. | Blue Loft
  28. SURPRISE – two percent milk didn’t kill me! | The Flavored Word
  29. Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Completely Disappear
14 thoughts on “My First Book Reading

  1. Oh my goodness that was an amazing story! Kids can do that to you. They help you get over your fears really quick… I’m glad you did, and you seem like you are very good at what you do! Awesome post!!!

  2. Pingback: Challenging my inner terror | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Nude Modelling: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: World’s Most Famous Quote | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  8. Pingback: Beyond the Pale, Again: Hope It’s As Good as Yesterday’s Post | 365 Days of Thank You

Leave a Reply

