A Matter of Years

Today my 4 year old son came to me and climbed into my lap.

“I’m looking at you” he said inspecting my face. “What do you see?” I asked.

“You!” he answered.

Thinking this conversation was going to turn deeper I asked, “No, but what do you see?”

“Your eyes, your nose, your hair…”

“But what do you see behind (that)?”

“Your back and your bottom!”

I think I have to wait a few years before I can talk philosophy with him.

But I’m really happy that he’s old enough to understand special occasions like the New Year. We celebrated this time not by getting into 4 hr traffic jams to see ten minutes of fireworks on a cold New Year’s eve, instead we had a picnic/party on a sunny afternoon of the 1st in our backyard. My husband, my 4 year old son and I, just the three of us. My son was so happy he kept wanting to kiss me and hug me for arranging a party for him.

I wonder if he’ll be this easy to please when he’s older?

20140101_143835

4 thoughts on “A Matter of Years

  1. How absolutely adorable! Makes me nostalgic for that time in my sons’ lives; they are now 27 and 29, raising their own sons. May you and your family have a peaceful and joyful new year. I enjoy reading your posts. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

