Give it away?

You’ve just won $1 billion dollars in the local lottery. You do not have to pay tax on your winnings. How will you spend the money?

I thought about this for some time and I decided to stick to my first response. If I won cash in a lottery I would just give it away to charity. It wouldn’t feel right to keep it. After all I didn’t earn it.

Although I am not working, my husband is, and he earns enough for us to be very comfortable. I intend to stay married to him for many years to come and so with God’s Grace I don’t think we would be in a situation where money is short. So I really don’t need it and I can think of many others who do.

I normally don’t take part in lotteries and if I do it’s just for the fun of it, not that I think I will actually win something. If I won something small like an electronics item I would probably keep it. But cash is something different.

Of course first I would have to convince my husband. I know he wouldn’t be happy that I would want to just give it away. He would tell me to pay 1/10th for my pledge and keep the rest. But like I said before I didn’t earn it so how can I keep it?

I really do believe that the more you give away the more God graces you with, and God’s Grace is much more valuable than any amount of money.

Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner!

  1. Billion Gold Coins | 365 days of defiance
  2. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | George and Nigel
  3. A Billion in the Bank | As I please
  4. Geek Ergo Sum
  5. What is a biscuit? | littlegirlstory
  6. DP Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner | Sabethville
  7. It’s MY Billion Dollars | Everyb0dyd0thefl0p.com
  8. Depends on when you ask I guess… | thoughtsofrkh
  9. Daily Prompt: You’re A Winner! | From Slacker To Scribe
  10. A Novel About Finding Treasure And What To Do With It | The Jittery Goat
  11. A Billion Dollars of Fun | 61 Musings
  12. Daily Prompt Challenge – Rich | soletusknow
  13. 238. Billionaire | Barely Right of Center
  14. A Dream Come True | Flowers and Breezes
  15. Daily Prompt Challenge | Jottings and Writings
  16. Getting Rich and the Tribble Epidemic | Rob’s Surf Report
  17. Daily Prompt: You’re A Winner!!! | Nicole Sloan’s Books
  18. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  19. If I Had a Billion Dollars… | Traci’s Space
  20. daily prompt: you’re a winner | aimanss…
  21. Mega-Jackpot Crazy Town | PROOF OF GOD! …and other tragedies.
  22. My Other Blog | Daily Prompt: You’re A Winner!
  23. money cannot buy | sarahscapes

 

14 thoughts on “Give it away?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. I think I would do the same, give it away. Mostly because I’m Muslim and playing in the lottery is against my religion; but forgetting that for a moment, I agree with you, I feel like I’m in a comfortable position.

    Imagine the happy faces of the people finding a comfortable position in their life as well because of someone who was kind enough to give away their money! I wish everyone had this logic.

  3. Haha, I was wondering if you were Muslim as well, I didn’t want to right out ask though because I thought that might sound weird. Anyways, yeah, I agree with you.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – You’re a Winner! | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: A Novel About Finding Treasure And What To Do With It | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: 300 dollar sushi in my private jet | I am Lynn

  7. Pingback: Did you hear? Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | Melba Christie at Poemattic

  8. Pingback: Getting Rich and the Tribble Epidemic | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Billion Billion Billion | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

