When forgiving is the only option

Share a story where it was very difficult for you to forgive the perpetrator for wronging you, but you did it — you forgave them.

Imagine this scenario: Your wedding invitations have been sent, your clothes are ready and your salon appointments have been made. Your husband to be is to arrive the day before.

He doesn’t turn up. He doesn’t call. Instead his relatives call you to tell you that he won’t be coming. What do you do?

Somehow I found it in my heart to forgive him. The only regret I had at that time was that I never got the chance to give him hell. I really had some things I wanted to say to him.

The only reason I forgave him was that deep down inside I knew he was not the one for me. My brother and sister had kept trying to convince me of this but I wouldn’t listen. Sometimes it happens that you know you’re going the wrong path and you keep going and hoping that circumstances will pull you out.

I am not normally the type who forgives easily at least not without having my say. “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned” would aptly describe me. But in this case this guy had actually done me a favor by not showing up. What would have happened if the wedding had gone through? A lifelong of misery? Probably.

What also helped was that just a short while later I was introduced to my husband. He was the balm on my wounds. That was 10 years ago.

Do I still think about why that person did that to me? Yes sometimes I do wonder what prompted him to back out in the way he did. Some years after I was married, one of his cousins came to work in the same office as I was. I hated seeing her because it would remind me of him and his venomous family. But I always made it a point to be civil to her.

To forgive is the easy part, to forget, well that’s another story.

Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget

  1. Repentance: Daily Post | Destino
  2. Forgiveness And Redemption Are Instinctive | The Jittery Goat
  3. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | M.W. Alvarez
  4. Father Forgive Them | Finale to an Entrance
  5. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | waldina
  6. She Let Go | Misifusa’s Blog
  7. Forgive and forget : Never Guilty | Now Have At It!
  8. daily prompt: forgive and forget | aimans…..
  9. Wronged . . . But, It’s All Right | meanderedwanderings
  10. Alice called me a … | Jolie Michele
  11. Where were You – the Power of Forgiving | A Teacher’s Blog from Land’s End
  12. Forgive, Forget, Repent? | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  13. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget | James’s Journal
  14. Forgiveness | Kate Murray
  15. The Blank Wall | Flowers and Breezes
  16. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | Melissa Holden
  17. S. Thomas Summers | The Wisdom of Trolls (Part IV)
  18. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget « Mama Bear Musings
  19. But I didn’t forget | Journey to Wholeness
  20. What to forgive exactly? | Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | Reunion
  21. Forgive, Forget, Repent. | Hope* the happy hugger
  22. Forgive and forget never | crookedeyebrows
  23. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | kimmiecode 🙂
  24. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. See the Mirror | Dreams to Reality !
  26. Daily Prompt; Forgive and Forget? | sixty, single and surviving
  27. Daily Prompt: Forgive and forget? | divorced doodling
  28. Forgive and forget | Sue’s Trifles
  29. FORGIVE ME MARY | Ronnie’s Blog
  30. Daily Prompt: Still Trying to Forget | One Starving Activist
  31. Don’t be Trapped by Bitterness | A Change-N-Me
  32. Forgive… and forget? | The Birds Inside My Head…
  33. Forgiveness (and Peace) Begin With Me
  34. Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | Angry Fish Rants
  35. Forgive and Forget? | Geek Ergo Sum

15 thoughts on “When forgiving is the only option

  1. That was cruel…really cruel….I never understand the fact about out culture why the so called groom don’t refuse the girl before and what on earth happens to him when he do that a day before wedding…. I mean his conscious never bites him ? I am sorry that happened to you…. You are so brave to face all this. Love xx

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. visit, read the article and thanks for posting your article is quite good and we hope that all our friends all success and thank you all, greetings. (This is a good thing) 🙂

  4. Pingback: When Technology Cheats | Expressions

  5. Pingback: Forgiveness And Redemption Are Instinctive | The Jittery Goat

  6. Thank God you at last forgave the offender. no matter how hard it may be forgiving the utmost thing to do when you have been offended. If you do not forgive it will continue to hurt you and you will be cool inside. But once you do so, you will discover “It’s warmer on the inside”. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

