My World

I pushed the wheelchair along as my mother sat enjoying the view of the garden. Every now and then she asked me to stop so I could take a picture of her with the flowers. The bright array of colors made a stark contrast with the dullness of the shawl she wore around her head and shoulders. Her upright stature did not betray her age and she smiled as I clicked the camera. I felt satisfied that this was a good way to spend the morning when my son was at school.

My son was not interested in seeing the garden; his interests were more in tune to the ferry trip we took last week. He sat watching the sights for an hour and that in itself was a great achievement. My camera was constantly clicking sometimes at the majestic buildings and their reflections glimmering in the water and sometimes at my son when he would turn around to smile at me. “Thank you Mama, for bringing me on the boat” he would say to me and each time my heart would melt. It really was worth the trouble bringing him without my husband being there.

My husband returned tonight just in time for dinner and after a week we ate together. He listened to me intently as I recounted the week’s happenings and my plans for the week ahead. He’s been having a tough time at work and the stress shows in the way his shoulders droop. I could tell that he was still thinking about work even when he was back home. He ate fast and with few words. His phone rang and it was from the office. He grimaced and got up to answer the phone leaving his food unfinished and me with my thoughts. “Well at least he’s back” I thought to myself, excited about the week of holidays ahead.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail

  1. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | circles under streetlights
  2. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | Rooktopia
  3. One Hundred Miles: Collecting Detail | suzie81’s Blog
  4. Book Spines Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  5. Sipping coffee | Master Of Disaster
  6. A Simple Matter Of Buying Stamps | Fish Of Gold
  7. Those little details I’d Otherwise miss | ART BLOG
  8. The life of one woman…
  9. I only cried in public once, today. | Climb Every Molehill
  10. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. Witty or Not, Here I Come
  12. A House Full of Doors | Breathing Space
  13. Prompt: Collecting Detail | Untitled Entity
  14. The Boy with Broken Wings | Gilded Warrior
  15. The first time | anonim0us
  16. Collecting Details | thisblogisepic
  17. feeling under the weather | Musings of a Random Mind
  18. Snow Day | Mary J Melange
  19. The Room Where I Write – Smart Stunning Searching
  20. A Night at The Hairdressers | My Play Nook
  21. The Door Opens | polymathically
  22. Culture Shock at Macy’s | kaffechai
  23. DETAILS? WHEN ENOUGH IS ENOUGH | SERENDIPITY
  24. A Glimmer Of . . . | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  25. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge : Violet Moon Rising | ginghamchick
  27. Break from the norm: collecting details | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  28. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | littlegirlstory
  29. The screwiness of me | Hope* the happy hugger
  30. Will Surviving a Freak Accident be Better? Or Worse? | The Thoughts’ Outlet
  31. details | yi-ching lin photography
  32. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail « Mama Bear Musings
  33. Collecting Detail: Winter’s Beauty | emilykarn
  34. A Broken Moment… Weekly Writing Challenge | standinginthestorm
  35. Sarah Runs a Lot
  36. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | imagination
  37. Weekly writing challenge: collecting detail « MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  38. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Details – Long walks and dark chocolate
  39. Central Park and Columbus Circle this week | bottledworder
  40. A Snow Globe Life | Wiley’s Wisdom
  41. Are You a Flatbed Mama or a Big Butt Woman? | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  42. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | Shawn’s Ramblings
  43. Collecting Detail | My random musings
  44. Glimmers of Christmas | So Here’s Us…
  45. The Butterflies 🙂 | Blue Loft
  46. Weekly Writing Challenge: Collecting Detail | jessy’s journeys
  47. Collecting Glimmers on a Grey Day | The Silver Leaf Journal
  48. DP Challenge: Collecting Detail | My Literary Quest
  49. Claude and Fraud Do Something 1O | Keigh Ahr
5 thoughts on “My World

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Collecting Details | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: Sounds and Smells of the Hunt and the Hunted… | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  3. Pingback: Painting the Night Sky with Colours | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

