Once an Eid day

What is your very favorite holiday? Recount the specific memory or memories that have made that holiday special to you.

I wrote about my favorite holiday being Eid yesterday. For this post I’d like to take a different angle and relate a memory associated with Eid, which ended up being very traumatic for me.

My son was born just a few days before Eid. My date was overdue and I suspect that my doctor didn’t want her holidays spoiled by me going into labor in the middle of them, so I was induced. I checked into the hospital just before midnight and my son arrived the next afternoon.

I had decided that I would breastfeed my child and I was confident that I would be able to do it. So like a fool I was not prepared for any problem and didn’t have a pump or even know how to prepare a bottle.

The first few days went fine but on the third day my baby would just not be able to feed. This was also Eid day and we had a lot of guests who were coming to greet us for Eid and the arrival of the baby. My son was hungry and I was not able to feed him. An hour passed.

I told my husband to get me a pump. The shops were mostly closed so he could just find a manual pump which didn’t work for me at all. My son was crying and I was getting frustrated. Many hours passed by.

I called my sister who is a doctor and has breastfed both her boys. She tried to help me but I was still unable to feed my child. There was too much milk and the baby couldn’t suckle properly.

Finally we decided to get formula milk as the baby was starting to look weak with hunger. By this time none of the shops were open. Later my husband told me that he told the guard that he needed milk and would break into the shop if he had to. The guard had pity on him and opened the shop for him and gave him the milk.

We quickly made the milk which my son drank with relish. That day I vowed never to breastfeed him again. All this was too much for me. I thought I would lose my son and my own overconfidence and stupidity were to blame.

A few weeks later my son was hungry and his bottle was not yet ready so I decided to give him my milk. I was able to do it. From then on I kept trying to breastfeed him as well. At first he would refuse since he had gotten used to the bottle but I didn’t stop trying. Finally at 4 months he didn’t want the bottle anymore and I exclusively breastfed him for a year. I only stopped later when I had to have some medication which was dangerous for him.

My son at 1 month

My son at 1 month

Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past

  1. Paris in the Springtime | Lost in Translation
  2. I Remember When… | 61 Musings
  3. That red and white checked cookbook | Butterfly Mind
  4. A Thanksgiving Mom Won’t Forget | The Jittery Goat
  5. Memories of Holidays Past | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  7. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past |
  9. Fairytale Moments in Copenhagen | Life is a Vacation
  10. Ghost of Christmas Past! | ♥Barb’s Magical Land Of Oz♥
  11. My Most Beloved Holiday Isn’t Even my Own: Christmas Eve With my Italian In-Laws | gorgeous little thieves
  12. Christmas to me is only Christmas when it’s hot… | thoughtsofrkh
  13. Today’s Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past |
  14. Memories of Holidays Past | Angel Frouk
  15. 234. Holidays Past | Barely Right of Center
  16. Daily Post: Memories of Holidays Past « Mama Bear Musings
  17. Christmas is Gingerbread Cookies | Live Life in Crescendo
  18. My Favorite Holiday of the (New) Year
  19. Taj Mahal | crookedeyebrows
  20. beloved circa 2004 | peacefulblessedstar
  21. Christmas on Lamu: views of a Swahili Community | Tish Farrell
  22. S. Thomas Summers | The Wisdom of Trolls (Part II)
  23. Christmas Past | 6 of One…
  24. The Real Tree | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  25. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past | reyoflight
  26. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays past | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. Once Upon a Thanksgiving . . . | meanderedwanderings
  28. When the Whales Come Calling | Retrofocus
  29. Memories of Holidays Past | The Nameless One
  30. Holiday past. | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  31. Christmas Eve | Life is great
  32. Calming & Centering | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  33. Heylooo TESLA!! 🙂 | gypsy thoughts ..
  34. Killing Santa | Emotional Fitness
  35. Trip to Azad Kashmir | Dreams to Reality !
  36. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past | Elämän katupeili
  37. The Northern Areas | Flowers and Breezes
  38. To All a Good Night For A Bit Of Christmas Cheer | Kansa Muse
  39. Of summers and friends long ago lost | Many musings blog’s Blog
  40. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past | Finding Life
  41. growing up without santa | Musings of a Random Mind
  42. Do You Know the Muffin Man? | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  43. DAILY PROMPT: HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMERICA! | SERENDIPITY
  44. The Daily Prompt: memories of holidays past « MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  45. Memories of Holidays Past | Winding Road
10 thoughts on “Once an Eid day

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays past | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Do You Know the Muffin Man? | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Wow. God bless the guard who let your husband in! I also had problems with feeding my son after he was born. Only, I had decided not to nurse him but to use formula. Except he was allergic to everything. By the time I have up and tried to nurse him, he refuse to accept me. I was so sad. Thankfully, we finally found a formula that worked. I admire you for never giving up!

    • It was a really stressful time for me because whenever he would not feed I would feel like he was rejecting me. But I was really determined to keep trying.
      Thanks for reading!

  4. You always read in novels how the new mother just snuggles the baby up to her and naturally starts breast feeding her child. It’s a lot more complicated than that. It was for me anyway. (Not to mention painful.) I can only imagine how stressful it was to have your child going hungry and you just standing by (not to mention in pain!) Glad all worked out well. Cute baby picture.

  5. Pingback: Ashes of Roses: My Christmas Story | Ashes of Roses

  6. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s “Bah, humbug” rationale | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: That Christmas Morning | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: A Peace of Christmas | No Pension, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

