A Painful loss

When I lost my father to cancer, a sense of relief accompanied the immense sadness at the loss. He had suffered so much we were relieved to finally see him at peace.

What did we do next? What can one do except go through the motions? Receive your relatives and friends and relive those horrible last days again and again. They come to comfort you but can’t you just be left alone to grieve? I would have rather spent that time with my mother and brother and sister than with people who came to condole and some of them hardly even knew my father.

I remember the house was full of people. I had spent the last 5 days in the ICU with my father, sleeping in the car parked outside the ICU and I was just tired of being tired and sad. I didn’t want to cry anymore. Maybe those people thought it was strange that I was so composed. But how could they understand?

When the burial was over and all the people left we were alone to face our grief. But life goes on. I went back to work, my brother went back to the US where he lived at that time, my sister continued to work as a doctor in a local hospital. My mother was now in charge of running the house on her own but it was something she had been doing since my father had taken ill.

We continued with our lives but that pain never really goes away. The day my father died he took something with him that can never be replaced. But yes, life goes on.

Daily Prompt: Unexpected

  1. Unexpected: Free Shipping on orders over $50 until Fri 13th Dec- Khana’s Web @ Society6 | Khana’s Web
  2. in death, there is | y
  3. extension | yi-ching lin photography
  4. Daily Post: Unexpected | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Safe’s not Safe | The Number FiftyTwo
  6. Daily prompt: {Whoops, what now?} | Anniemation Floe
  7. of epitaphs « Anawnimiss
  8. Loss Is A Season | The Ambitious Drifter
  9. Daily Prompt: Unexpected | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  10. Ceases | Bullet holes in the wall
  11. Loss | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  12. Prayer Is A Good Start, But Not The Finish | The Jittery Goat
  13. Loss | The Magic Black Book
  14. Unexpected | mostlytrueramblings
  15. Loss of Balance | medicinalmeadows
  16. Daily Prompt: Unexpected « Mama Bear Musings
  17. Bye Bye Car | Prayers and Promises
  18. Daily Prompt: Unexpected loss – The problem of working for FMCG companies | L5GN
  19. Dreams Soar | crookedeyebrows
  20. Death. | ♥Bob’s Magical Land Of Oz♥
  21. Daily Prompt: Unexpected | life n me!
  22. Monuments to Loss | Finale to an Entrance
  23. Remembering My Mother | The Pinterested Parent
  24. Daily Prompt: Unexpected | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. The Lurker’s List | In Silence
  26. Daily Prompt: 20 Days Left….Unexpectedly | Not The Sword But The Pen
  27. Love and Loss | The Nameless One
  28. Daily Prompt: Unexpected | Finding Life
  29. Sideswiped by the Unexpected | The River Mom
  30. Life Happens, Good and Bad | Kansa Muse
  31. “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” | Beauty
  32. Signed Unknown | Ashes of Roses
  33. Daily Prompt: Unexpected | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  34. Signed Unknown | Ashes of Roses
  35. TEARS STING | hastywords
  36. The Road Not Taken Does Not Exist
  37. Not alone | Life is great
  38. In Loss We Often FInd Ourselves | An Upturned Soul
  39. Loss | the ephemeral petal
  40. Daily Prompt: Unexpected …The loss of someone special | timzauto…. in search of the blond haired kid
  41. Well, That Happened | A Good One

18 thoughts on “A Painful loss

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unexpected | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: EXPECTING THE UNEXPECTED | SERENDIPITY

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unexpected | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a parent is extremely difficult. My step-father of 23 years passed away suddenly in March. Life does go on, but sometimes it feels as though it’s at a standstill, as I’m waiting to wake up from this dream. But, it’s not a dream, which is almost an impossible thing to wrap my head around. I feel your pain and I’m sorry.

      • Yes, I imagine that is painful. We always want our children to know and be close to their grandparents and our parents to them. It’s hard to be without them.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Loss | Tommia's Tablet

  6. Pingback: The Weight of Living | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  7. Pingback: Big Blonde Moustache on a Scooter | I am Lynn

  8. Pingback: Wishing that | Her Crazy World ♥

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unexpected – Heartbroken | Words 'n Pics

  10. Pingback: Prayer Is A Good Start, But Not The Finish | The Jittery Goat

  11. Pingback: The stuff of Surfer Rob’s nightmares | Rob's Surf Report

  12. Pingback: Unexpected… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  13. Pingback: WePoetsShowIt – WordCloud Wednesdays starring TooFullToWrite (the sequel – A Breath Of Fresh Air) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

