Out of Reach

When I was a child the 4 year and 5 year difference I had with my elder sister and brother seemed really too much. They were always out of my reach.

I used to follow my brother around and copy everything he did. He used to cycle so I learnt cycling too even though I remember grazing my knees and elbows quite badly attempting to learn but I did it in the end. He would skate around the house so I had to learn too. Sometimes he would make me his orderly (a senior army officer’s assistant) and I would do his chores.

I would want to play with my sister and her friends but I was a baby for them and they didn’t want to have me around. When her friends were not around she would dress me up as a bride and put on make-up on me. I think I rather enjoyed it as I never complained.

What I longed for was to be treated as an equal. I soon learnt that this was not going to be possible and it was better just to stick with my friends.

When we became adults everything changed. Now I always go to my sister for advice and am close to both my siblings. They treat me as an equal and I don’t feel the age difference at all. Sometimes they ask me for advice or help too. I’m glad they are no longer out of my reach.

Me with my brother and sister

Me with my brother and sister

Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach

  1. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Under the Monkey Tree
  2. of hangups « Anawnimiss
  3. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Diary of Dennis
  4. Desire | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  5. My very own Auto Bookie Pro | Now Have At It!
  6. To trust: worth more than a thousand toys | alienorajt
  7. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach – Dream Love
  8. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach…..walking in darkness | timzauto…. in search of the blond haired kid
  9. Feeding a street cat | Alex Markovich Digital Art
  10. “Desire” | Relax
  11. There Was Nothing For Christmas, But I Received Everything | The Jittery Goat
  12. Date with Dream Lake Manasarovar | Life is a Vacation
  13. Daily Prompt: The Mini Me | readingwithafeather
  14. Um. No. Wow, that was a simple entry! | thoughtsofrkh
  15. Toy Envy | Kate Murray
  16. The Lurker’s List | The Beat That Was Not Meant For Me
  17. Absence of Desire | Finale to an Entrance
  18. Out of Your Reach | Geek Ergo Sum
  19. out of reach | yi-ching lin photography
  20. Author | crookedeyebrows
  21. Out Of My Reach
  22. Out Of My Reach | Flowers and Breezes
  23. White-hot | Bullet holes in the wall
  24. dream for a future | The Frozen Tears
  25. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  26. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach « Mama Bear Musings
  27. Barbie House | Poetry by Nowelle
  28. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | kimmiecode 🙂
  29. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Awl and Scribe
  30. Out of Reach But Still Happy Trails | Kansa Muse
  31. The Number FiftyTwo
  32. How much is that doggie in the window? | Louie Behogan
  33. Out of their reach | Braised Pork on Rice
  34. ‘Covet’ doesn’t begin to describe it … | 365 And Counting
  35. Daily Prompt – Out of your Reach | Kate Frazer Writes
  36. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Finding Life
  37. dəˈzī(ə)r/ | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  38. Guest Blogger- Jann Alexander “Holiday Expectations” « Dancing with Fireflies
  39. Daily Prompt: All I Want | One Starving Activist
  40. To Veal or Not to Veal, That is the Question . . . | meanderedwanderings
  41. The bike | Life is great
  42. Out Of Your Reach | johnny ojanpera
  43. Desire – Daily Prompt | L5GN
  44. Eros Goes Global | Travel with Intent
  45. Breaker Breaker Calling Father Christams, over! | Many musings blog’s Blog
  46. Childhood Desire | Active Army Wife
  47. birth of an angel | peacefulblessedstar
  48. Out of Reach | The Nameless One
  49. Christmas Wish | HardWriteTurn
  50. All Good Things | Retrofocus
  51. My Grown Up Christmas List | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  52. birth of an angel | peacefulblessedstar
  53. Daily prompt blues | Rob’s Surf Report
  54. Desire | Words ‘n Pics
  55. Nothing Was Really Ever Out Of My Reach…It Just Felt That Way | Eccentric and Bent
  56. Daily prompt: Desire | Words ‘n Pics
  57. Love | Stories from aside
  58. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach – A mother’s peril | littlegirlstory
  59. Everything I Need…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  60. Always Blessed ! | Dreams to Reality !
  61. Perfect Parents? Baloney. | Parents Are People Too
  62. Daily Post: Palace of Earthly Desires | Light Words
  63. December Blog Challenge… Desire | Chuckle at Chaos
  64. The Daily: Out of Your Reach | Patty Ryan Lee
  65. Clothes for Ken | It’s all Bananas
  66. Fire and Desire | anonim0us
  67. Healthy Desire | Whispered Words
  68. Sugar! | unaware but underlined
  69. Not walking tall | Emotional Fitness
  70. But I want… | 2 times pink
  71. Dear Santa (A Grownup’s Christmas List) – Compass & Quill
  72. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | SIM | ANTICS
  73. Out of Reach… | Kawanee’s Korner
  74. Desire – | Destino
  75. The Tempting Tater | Diary of a quirky girl
  76. Red Shoes to Make You Fly! | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  77. Desire | Words on a Page
  78. To Give Is To Receive | Wiley’s Wisdom
  79. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Moonlight Reflections
  80. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | A Weary Mind
  81. Barbie’s Electric Car | Chasing A Dream
  82. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | I’m Just Sayin’…
  83. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  84. Out of Reach | The Silver Leaf Journal
  85. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Basically Beyond Basic
  86. Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | adorablyobnoxious
  87. Out of Your Reach | Just for Fun Drawings
  88. Out of Your Reach | My Conscious Self
  89. DP: Just beyond my reach. | Simple Heart Girl
  90. The Telescope And The Not-So Big Gift | polymathically
  91. Out of Your Reach | i am bittersweet
  92. in death, there is | y
  93. extension | yi-ching lin photography
  94. Imprint… | vic briggs
  95. The toy I always wanted…but was afraid to ask for | The Crayon Files
17 thoughts on “Out of Reach

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Desire | Words 'n Pics

  3. Pingback: There Was Nothing For Christmas, But I Received Everything | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Out of your reach | My Kaleidoscope

  5. Pingback: Out of Reach | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: of hangups « Anawnimiss

  7. Pingback: Where the Stone rests! Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Thoughts of a wandering drunk

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | victor's mind

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | life n me!

  10. What a great post. I’m an only child, so it’s always interesting to me to see how other kids viewed their siblings. Good to see your relationship with your brother and sister is so loving 🙂

  11. Love this. My sisters and I have a slightly larger gap in ages…just slightly…but a couple of years makes a big difference when you are growing up. Then when you are all grown up, it doesn’t matter anymore, although I will always be the baby.

    • That’s true, the youngest is always the baby and the older siblings look out for you. But at the same time the age difference doesn’t matter anymore.
      Thanks for reading.

  12. Pingback: Cabbage patch kids | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

