A Birthday Gift

Tell us about a conversation you couldn’t help but overhear.

I phoned my sister’s house and my 10 year old nephew Mustafa picked it up. I told him that I wanted to speak to his younger brother Hamza who was turning 6 later that week and ask him what he wanted for his birthday. Mustafa was talking to his younger brother and not knowing that I could hear what he was saying.

“Hamza, Lala wants to talk to you.” Now apparently Hamza was in no mood to talk to his Lala i.e. me.

“Hamza, come on, she wants to ask you about your birthday gift”. Now Hamza makes a move towards the phone.

“Yes Lala.”

“Hamza what would you like for your birthday?” I asked him. At the back I could hear Mustafa prompting him. “Hamza, don’t say anything big.”

Now Hamza getting approval from his elder brother, “Can I ask for a football?”

Mustafa in return getting further approval from his dad, “Wait let me ask Abbu!” Mustafa comes back after a moment and tells Hamza “Abbu is saying you can ask for a football magazine.”

“Lala can I have a football magazine?”

“Yes sure Hamza, is that all?” At the back Mustafa is telling his brother “Hamza, don’t ask for anything else.”

“Yes Lala, thank you.”

“Ok Hamza.”

I have to say I have the cutest nephews in the world!

Daily Prompt: Hear No Evil

  1. Little dragon silhouette | Photos to inspire you
  2. Secret | The Magic Black Book
  3. Daily Prompt: Hear No Evil | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. What has been heard cannot be unheard… | Angel Frouk
  5. Hear no evil | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. Lust overheard | alienorajt
  7. Secrets | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  8. Moonlight Eyes (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  9. Lock your ear | મન ની વાત
  10. Keeping schtum. It’s so much easier. | thoughtsofrkh
  11. Overheard conversations | Kate Murray
  12. Platonic | Scattered Thoughts
  13. bukan gambar atau kata-kata | The Frozen Tears
  14. The One Who Wasn’t There | An Upturned Soul
  15. She Carries Her Secrets | Prayers and Promises
  16. Overheard Conspiracy (or Invasion of the Sock Gnomes) | Finale to an Entrance
  17. The call | Spunky Wayfarer
  18. DAILY PROMPT: HEAR NO EVIL NOR EVEN GOOD | SERENDIPITY
  19. The Secret | The Silver Leaf Journal
  20. Daily Prompt: Hear No Evil | Awl and Scribe
  21. Shhhh… there’s something going on between me and… | Words ‘n Pics
  22. Daily Prompt: Hear no Evil | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Hear No Evil | Jarime’s Blog
  24. Daily Prompt: Hear No Evil | Basically Beyond Basic
  25. In the net fo listening | crookedeyebrows
  26. IS THIS MODIGLIANI GUY DEAD OR ALIVE? | Standing Ovation, Seated
  27. Daily Prompt: Say What Now? | One Starving Activist
  28. Daily Prompt – A Poem: Hear No Evil | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  29. Hear No Evil | I Write Therefore I Am
  30. “Hear No Evil” | Relax
  31. Never Again | Flowers and Breezes
  32. Ménage à trois | vic briggs
  33. The Back Hallway | Going New Places!
  34. Overheard At Work: “Tone Down the Gay”
  35. The Lurker’s List | 10 Life Lessons From A Nomad Working Abroad
  36. Secretive baking and Tea cake | A Crazy Chef

7 thoughts on “A Birthday Gift

    • When Mustafa was just starting to speak he couldn’t say Khala and he used to call me Lala instead. I thought it was so cute that I let him call me Lala later even when he could say Khala. And so I just became Lala for him and his younger brother.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hear no Evil | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Moonlight Eyes (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: The Secret |

  4. Pingback: Hear no evil… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

