Tattoos, A Big No-No

Do you have a tattoo?

Where I come from, women (or for that matter men also) don’t have tattoos. We (women) do like wearing henna though on our hands and feet on festive occasions and weddings. Henna or mehndi as we call it, dyes the skin a reddish brownish color and lasts for a few weeks. It’s usually put in floral designs without any text.

My mehndi on my wedding

My mehndi on my wedding

I guess I wouldn’t need to have something written (and that also painfully) on my body. If I need to make a statement I’ll use words whether spoken or written.

Daily Prompt: Tattoo.. You?

  1. Try it | Photos to inspire you
  2. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. Tattoos | Kate Murray
  4. Port Cullis | alienorajt
  5. What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat
  6. Family & Faith | Active Army Wife
  7. My Ink, My Story | Finale to an Entrance
  8. Tattoo… You? | Relax
  9. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | A Mixed Bag
  10. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Awl and Scribe
  11. My First Tattoo | Steve Boer Photography
  12. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Olivia May Photography
  13. Should you Tattoo? | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  14. Permenant | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  15. The Accidental Tattoo | A Buick in the Land of Lexus
  16. INK can’t Hide me ! | Dreams to Reality !
  17. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | timzauto…. in search of the blond haired kid
  18. Daily Prompt:Tatto…..You? | Motherhood and Beyond
  19. Tattoo — You? | Flowers and Breezes
  20. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  21. Daily Prompt: Proudly Inked | One Starving Activist
  22. A tattoo! Or two…or three… | wordsandotherthings
  23. Tattoo. | Bullet holes in the wall
  24. Tattoo… Me! | Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  25. Body and Soul: of mundane miracles and secular sacraments | Muddy River Muse
  26. Tattoos….You? That is the question. | Kansa Muse
  27. Tatted Up! | meanderedwanderings
  28. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Everyday Adventures
  29. Who Needs a Tattoo? I’ve Got A Blog!
  30. Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak
  31. Kissing the sky. | Inside of love
  32. To Be Continued… | Charron’s Chatter
  33. The tattoo that I have, and the ones I want | And I write
  34. Tattoos | Mountains or Molehills
  35. Daily Prompt: Tattoo’s the Diverse Art | Bowl of Rice
  36. Ink’d | A Room of One’s Own
  37. A Mark For Life | annezheng
  38. On Tattoos | Not the Family Business!
  39. Tattoo? – One Day | My Play Nook
  40. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Basically Beyond Basic
  41. How and Why I Decided To Get Inked | noinpart
  42. Skin Deep | All work and quite a lot of play
  43. Tattoo….You? | The Nameless One
  44. Permanent ink. | Simple Heart Girl
  45. DAILY PROMPT: TATTOO — ME! PHOENIX RISING! | SERENDIPITY
  46. Tattooed Memories… | Haiku By Ku

35 thoughts on “Tattoos, A Big No-No

  1. I had wanted to get a tattoo in my twenties but hadn’t found anything that I wanted forever, so I didn’t. Then, in my thirties my little brother was killed in a black ice car accident. A few weeks after that horrible event, a handful of his best friends and I did get a tattoo. They got the beautiful Celtic cross that my brother had on his back, I got the Trinity symbol in the middle of his cross.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt:Tatto…..You? | Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. I love mehndhi! I just love it so much! I think it looks gorgeous, and whenever I go to a wedding, I always like to put it on.
    🙂
    Great post!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Everyday Adventures

  6. That is a gorgeous photo!

    I would have to agree that tattoos are very much a cultural thing. Generally I would also agree that if one needs to “make a statement” that words spoken or written are usually much more appropriate. If there is ever something, though, that makes you feel like a clanging cathedral bell is resonating from deep inside you and flooding your whole sense of being, that that something has become an integral part of your idea of self and how you expression yourself in the world, then I think something of that magnitude might reasonably prompt a person to mark their body in a way that they feel authentically represents that something. Something like the death of a loved one or a radical transformation of faith are often the case.

    • It’s just that tattoos are not present in my culture.

      When my husband was in his early 20s his first cousin who was a year older died in an accident. They were very close. His cousin had made a pledge to donate 1/10th of every earning to charity for the rest of his life. On his death my husband promised to carry on that pledge and to this day 13 years later he donates 1/10th of his income to charity.

  7. Pingback: Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak

  8. Pingback: On Tattoos | Not the Family Business!

  9. I’ve always been fascinated by mehndi and yours is the most lovely I’ve seen. Would it be considered disrespectful for someone to have it done who is outside of your culture? I have seen it offered at fairs and carnivals and it somehow seems disrespectful. Maybe you could enlighten me a bit?
    BB

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo You? | BulgingButtons

  11. Pingback: Time for a – Tattoo? Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics

  12. Pingback: If I Chose Tattoes | mycookinglifebypatty

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | GG's World

  14. Pingback: What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat

  15. Pingback: The Art of Choosing Ink | The Silver Leaf Journal

  16. Pingback: Tattoo… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  17. my husband died of hepatitis C-liver cancer on the December 3 ,2013. The Hepatitis C is come from his big tattoo……..tattoo is from satan magical practices in the ancient and now it is like a trend, satan’s trap to make people died from it and it is what satan want, make people die as many as possible to be with him when Jehovah God new world comes!!!!!

Leave a Reply

