Going through Childbirth

They say there is no pain greater than childbirth. As I became older and my parents talked of my marriage, this became my greatest fear. Anything related to this would make me faint. Two women talking about their experiences (and women LOVE talking about their experiences) would make me feel sick.

I saw my elder sister suffer from a miscarriage. When I saw her bleeding I threw up and almost fainted. It was extremely embarrassing that my family had to console me along with my sister, when I, as her only sister should have been the one doing the consoling.

When I got married I did not as is usually the case become pregnant immediately. I suffered from two early miscarriages and had to go through some treatment.

I remember once I was watching a movie with my husband and there was an explicit scene of a woman going through a difficult birth. As I watched, I started blanking out. I think I was out for a good few minutes and while my husband was calling out to me, I could hear him but couldn’t reply. Another embarrassing episode!

After six years of marriage I was pregnant again and things were progressing well. Still fear of the D-day lingered. In my family all the births (all 6 of them) have taken place by operation. So seeing the family history and my own history of falling apart at the mere thought of childbirth, everyone assumed I would simply have an operation and avoid going through the trauma of labor pains and natural delivery.

But my doctor was determined that I have a natural delivery. The position of the baby was correct and there was no need to have an operation.

And so it happened that my due date passed and I had to be induced. I went through a natural delivery and I was really blessed to have a relatively easy time of it. While being stitched up I was calling up my husband and mother-in-law to tell them that the child had been born! Later my doctor thanked me for not screaming while delivering! She also told me that it was hospital policy to stop the epidural later during the delivery which they had done without my knowledge.

When my brother who at the time was a doctor in the same hospital came to see me after the birth I was sitting on the chair looking quite fresh. He was amazed that his frail little sister had been so brave.

But I cannot take any credit for being brave. It really is God’s blessings that help you through.

DSCN3726

Daily Prompt: Fear Factor

  1. Spinning a Web of Words | In Harmony
  2. Courage | The Magic Black Book
  3. DP : Irrational Fear | Experimental Fiction
  4. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Everyday Adventures
  5. It was November, and I was afraid | Butterfly Mind
  6. Fanning the Flames of Fear | Spirit Lights The Way
  7. Emotional Baggage | Kate Murray
  8. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Fear Factor
  9. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. 227. Fear Factor | Barely Right of Center
  11. Arthur Overcomes The Fear Of Books, (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  12. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Insanitree
  13. Fear Factor: A litany of phobias | James Clegg
  14. Courage | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  15. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Finding Life
  16. I ain’t afraid of no ghosts…or whatever the line is from “Ghostbusters” | thoughtsofrkh
  17. theferkel | My Irrational Fear of Spiders
  18. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | On My Front Porch
  19. Rob’s Surf Report
  20. Fear | The Nameless One
  21. Fear | victor’s mind
  22. Not being loved | alienorajt
  23. MONSTER MYTHS – not exactly bedtime stories | Historiefortelling
  24. DP: Courage and Facing Fears | 3 Nish on a Journey
  25. Fear Factor | Braised Pork on Rice
  26. Conception of acceptation | Veni, vici, vidi
  27. I Still Walk Miles… | Retrofocus
  28. DAILY PROMPT: FEAR FACTOR – EEK! | SERENDIPITY
  29. HIGH HOPES | seifsalamakarem
  30. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Awl and Scribe
  31. Tough Mudder and My Glass Case of Emotion | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  32. Daily Prompt : Fear Factor | Scary Movie Ghosts | LoudThoughtsVoicedOut
  33. Fear | CombatBabe
  34. An Irrational Fear | Hey there, I’m Jimin.
  35. Phobophobia | Processing the life
  36. My Other Blog | Daily Prompt: Fear Factor
  37. Fear: Good or Bad? | meanderedwanderings
  38. Just Sayin’
  39. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Basically Beyond Basic
  40. Open Hearts… | Haiku By Ku
  41. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  42. Afraid of death | Life is great
  43. Stagecraft | vic briggs
  44. Daily Prompt: Fear | Bowl of Rice
  45. My Not so Unique Fear | TechnoTom
  46. Must not cry, must not cry, must not freaking cry!! | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  47. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | 20 Lines A Day
  48. It takes courage… | Words ‘n Pics
  49. Be the Light | Eyes to Heart
  50. The Species of the Two-Legged Beast | Lipstick and Lithium
  51. Jangan takut untuk takut | The Frozen Tears
  52. Courage | Flowers and Breezes
18 thoughts on “Going through Childbirth

  1. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: MONSTER MYTHS – not exactly bedtime stories | Historiefortelling

  3. You both do look lovely. I looked like I had been run over by a truck and I’d had a C-section! I was absolutely terrified of childbirth too. We do hear so many horror stories. But I think we women don’t realize our own strength. For me, I wanted to write about my birth experience so my son would know his story and he said he enjoyed reading it. Someday I think your son will enjoy reading this!

    • Actually a C-section is more difficult because of the pain you feel from the stitches. My sister and sister-in-law both looked terrible after their operations.
      How old was your son when he read what you wrote?

      • He read it last year when he was 17. It hardly seems possible he is 18 now. When they hand you your baby in the hospital, 18 years seems like a very long time, but it really does go by so quickly!

  4. Pingback: Phobophobia | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | On My Front Porch

  7. Pingback: It takes courage… | Words 'n Pics

  8. Pingback: Be the Light | Eyes to Heart

  9. Pingback: Fear | victor's mind

  10. Pingback: Fear Factor: Courage – A Festival of Lights | Khana's Web

  11. Pingback: Arthur Overcomes The Fear Of Books, (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  12. Pingback: Afraid of death | Life is great

  13. Pingback: Fear Factor | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  14. I had 2 miscarriages before I gave birth to 2 kids. A week before I gave birth to my first child, a door hit my tummy and was confined for 2 days due to contraction and heartbeat of the baby is very fast. And for the second child, I had pre-term labor. My pregnancy experiences are making me think, “Oh no, not again!”

Leave a Reply

