Close Call

I was 8 months pregnant with my son and my husband was living in another town some two hours away by car. He used to commute on the weekends.  I was working full time 9 to 6 but we had a driver who would take me to work and bring me back.

One evening I returned home and when I tried to unlock my door I saw that the lock had been broken and the door was open. I entered my home to see that nothing was out of place. What I didn’t realize immediately was that the intruder might still be in the house hiding somewhere!

I rang up my husband who immediately told me to lock myself in my room and have my pistol ready. In those days I had a pistol which I had learnt how to use. My husband said he would be leaving immediately to come home. We didn’t alert the police because, well, in my country you usually try to avoid getting involved with the police.

When my husband arrived he searched the whole house and thankfully found nobody. Also nothing had been touched. Apparently the intruder had broken the lock but something had scared him before he could enter. What made him run away, we will never know.

Later I realized fully what a close call I had. I don’t know what I would have done had I come face to face with the intruder. I am glad that never happened.

Daily Prompt: Close Call

  1. Листья на заборе | Markovich Arts
  2. Spinning a Web of Words | In Harmony
  3. Silence in the Metro | MC’s Whispers
  4. Close | The Magic Black Book
  5. A knife and “you don’t love me so you have to die” | RPMAS
  6. Daily Prompt: Close Call | 3 Nish on a Journey
  7. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Insanitree
  8. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Basically Beyond Basic
  9. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Close. | Hope* the happy hugger
  11. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Awl and Scribe
  12. That One Time I Almost Got Married | Dear Yolandi
  13. A(n?) Haiku for you… | thoughtsofrkh
  14. Live peacefully | crookedeyebrows
  15. Just missing the femoral artery | alienorajt
  16. DAILY PROMPT: TOO CLOSE TO CALL | SERENDIPITY
  17. The man with nine lives: Part III | noah121weiss
  18. 25/11 Daily Prompt: Close Call | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  19. Close Call: Nowhere Man | James Clegg
  20. A Petulant Pimple and a Middle Finger Salute | sayanything
  21. ermahgerhd | Almost Dead
  22. Walk in the dark. | Whispered Words
  23. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  24. On the Road Again With A Close Call | Kansa Muse
  25. So close…. | Inside of love
  26. Close Call | Flowers and Breezes
  27. Close as a close thing | Kate Murray
  28. Woke Up As A Eunuch* | Finale to an Entrance
  29. Living on… | Haiku By Ku
  30. The Train On The Track | The Jittery Goat
  31. Molotov cocktail | Life is great
  32. Daily Prompt: Close Call – Why I Won’t Ride a Bike | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  33. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Sued51’s Blog
14 thoughts on “Close Call

  1. Pingback: Running against the stream | Historiefortelling

  2. Pingback: My Stay in the Matrix: The Bullet I Dodged | The Arkside of Thought

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Close Call | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Molotov cocktail | Life is great

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Close Call | Hear Em Rant Oft

  6. Pingback: The Train On The Track | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: It’s a war zone around here! | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Daily prompt ….. Close Call | 20 Lines A Day

  9. Pingback: Close |

  10. I truly understand how you’re feeling. Once, i’ve been in the same situation. It happened during my studies, to be exact during my summer holidays. I’ve been staying at home nearly the whole summer, but that day I decided to go to town. When I came back, the balcony door was ajar, strangely, nothing was damaged, missing.
    Since my childchood I’ve been tormented by various nightmares, the most popular of them were of me being alone in the house, when someone breaks in and I frantically start looking for a hideout :/
    It saddens me that one can’t feel safe even at home.
    I feel particularly horrified when I’m reading of women assaulted in their own beds at night, because they left an open window in the summer or simply because the raper just broke in.

  11. Pingback: Close call… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. Pingback: By God’s Grace and Mercy | A Short A Day

Leave a Reply

